Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

West Virginia University

Morgantown, WVPublic HLCWVU Online

West Virginia University in Morgantown offers online associate, bachelor's, master's and doctoral programs through WVU Online. Each online program page lists a cost per credit hour, and online courses carry an Online Learning Student Support fee.

Verified online degrees

9 programs verified so far (2 bachelor's, 5 master's, 2 doctoral). The university may offer more online degrees than we have verified.

West Virginia University

General Business, B.S.B.AD.

Bachelor'sBSBAdFirst-year entryBachelor of Science in Business Administration in General Business
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA) · Management
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 4 years · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $250 per credit · Military rate (eligible active-duty students using Federal TA)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

West Virginia University

Nursing, R.N. to B.S.N.

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 1-2 years; as few as two semesters (as few as two semesters with a flexible curriculum (conditions not further stated)) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $250 per credit · Military rate (eligible active-duty students using Federal TA)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

West Virginia University

Business Administration, M.B.A.

Master'sMBAMaster of Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 1 year (full-time) or 2 years (part-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $795 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

West Virginia University

Cybersecurity, M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Cybersecurity
Subject: Cybersecurity
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 1-3 years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $805 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

West Virginia University

Public Health, M.P.H.

Master'sMPHMaster of Public Health
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits; practical placement required
Duration: 1-4 years · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $686 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous · Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 years (part-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $768 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

West Virginia University

Special Education, M.A.

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Special Education
Subject: Special Education
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 3 semesters (full-time) or 5 semesters (part-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $764 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

West Virginia University

Nursing Practice, D.N.P.

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3-4 years · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $867 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

West Virginia University

Occupational Safety and Health, Ph.D.

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Occupational Safety and Health
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: Approximately 4 years · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $805 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1930 · next review 08/31/2024

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

The university states: “West Virginia University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission.” Source: accreditation.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institutional accreditation covers the institution. It does not by itself mean a program is accredited by a specialized accreditor or that it leads to a professional license; programmatic accreditation is shown on each program page.

Online student services

Services the university publishes for online students. Availability can depend on program and enrollment status.

Library access

Tutoring

Where online students can enroll from

State authorization (can the university enroll you online from your state?) and professional licensure (does a program meet your state's licensing requirements?) are separate questions.

State authorization

Professional licensure disclosures

Scholarships and tuition discounts

University-wide awards and rates published for online students. Program pages list awards specific to a program.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope.
  • WVU Online Graduate CertificatesCertificates are not degrees.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution

Official name
West Virginia University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Main location
PO Box 6201, Morgantown, WV 26506
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Students enrolled exclusively in distance education
2,509 of 24,200 students (Fall 2023)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 10, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. accreditation.wvu.edu/home — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. accreditation.wvu.edu/professional-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. IPEDS Fall 2023 enrollment by distance-education status (EF2023A_DIST) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  6. online.wvu.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. online.wvu.edu/military/tuition-rates/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  8. online.wvu.edu/programs/doctoral-programs/nursing-practice-dnp/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  9. online.wvu.edu/programs/doctoral-programs/occupational-safety-health-phd/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  10. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  11. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/business-administration-mba/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  12. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/public-health-mph/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  13. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/social-work-msw-regular/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  14. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/special-education-ma/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  15. online.wvu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  16. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile