Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

West Virginia University · Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

Cybersecurity, M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Cybersecurity

Overview

A 30-credit online Master of Science in Cybersecurity from the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, delivered in 8-week asynchronous courses with synchronous office hours. GMAT/GRE are not required.

Official program name
Cybersecurity, M.S.
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Cybersecurity
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
West Virginia University — Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Morgantown, WVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
10 courses / 30 credits
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
1-3 years
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online curriculum with asynchronous courses and synchronous office hours.

Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Bachelor's in computer science, computer engineering, cybersecurity or closely related field with minimum cumulative GPA 3.0 on a 4-point scale.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
OptionalGraduates in other fields with at least one year of cybersecurity experience may be considered for provisional admission.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of 750 to 1,000 words.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two professional and/or educational references.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)$805per creditEstimated tuition$24,150 = 30 credits × $805 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online Learning Student Support (OLSS) Fee (capped at $75 per course)
$25 per creditMandatory
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.wvu.edu/military/tuition-rates/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.wvu.edu/programs/doctoral-programs/occupational-safety-health-phd/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/cybersecurity-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. online.wvu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/online-fee-faqs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Informatics and Analytics, M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Informatics and Analytics
Subject: Data Science & Analytics
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $150 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Informatics & Analytics (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Cybersecurity and Information Assurance – M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science, Cybersecurity and Information Assurance
Subject: Cybersecurity
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $4,925 per term · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

MS in Library and Information Science (Leep online option)

Master'sMSLISMaster of Science in Library and Information Science
Subject: Information Systems
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 18-24 months · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $694 per credit · In-state — Illinois residents
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.