Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

West Virginia University · WVU School of Nursing

Nursing Practice, D.N.P.

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice

Overview

A 32-credit online DNP for nurses with an MSN (or a BSN plus a health-related master's), combining synchronous and asynchronous courses with a clinical immersion experience, a multi-semester DNP project and preceptor rotations in the final year. Admission is for fall.

Official program name
Nursing Practice, D.N.P.
Awarded degree
Doctor of Nursing Practice
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
West Virginia University — WVU School of Nursing
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Morgantown, WVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
11 courses / 32 credits
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
3-4 years
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online DNP blending synchronous and asynchronous coursework with a clinical immersion and preceptor practicum rotations.

Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Required

    Practicum rotations with approved preceptors in the final year; students may have to travel outside their local area.

    Clinical sites (may require travel)

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Clinical placement Required

    Clinical immersion experience; RN licensure required in the state where it is completed.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Multi-semester DNP Project evaluating system-level changes.
    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMSN, or a BSN plus a master's in a health-related discipline.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredActive, unrestricted RN license, plus licensure in the state of the clinical immersion.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Overall GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (provisional 2.75-2.99); nursing GPA minimum 3.0.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalUp to twelve semester credits with B- or better may be transferred.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal essay in APA format, no more than 3 pages.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Background check
RequiredBackground checks and drug screens upon admission.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)$867per creditEstimated tuition$27,744 = 32 credits × $867 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online Learning Student Support (OLSS) Fee (capped at $75 per course)
$25 per creditMandatory
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — DNP accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. accreditation.wvu.edu/professional-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.wvu.edu/military/tuition-rates/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.wvu.edu/programs/doctoral-programs/nursing-practice-dnp/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. online.wvu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/online-fee-faqs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: eight semesters of full-time study (full-time study) · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Troy University

Doctor of Nursing Practice (Post Masters)

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Troy, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 35 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $550 per credit · All online students — TROY Online doctoral tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: East Lansing, MIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 years minimum duration · 70 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $934.25 per credit · In-state
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.