Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

West Virginia University · School of Public Health

Public Health, M.P.H.

Master'sMPHMaster of Public Health

Overview

A 42-credit online asynchronous MPH from the School of Public Health with 16-week courses and a 180-hour applied practice experience that can be completed at the student's workplace. Applications go through SOPHAS.

Official program name
Public Health, M.P.H.
Awarded degree
Master of Public Health
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
West Virginia University — School of Public Health
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Morgantown, WVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
18 courses / 42 credits
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
1-4 years
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online asynchronous MPH with no campus visits; includes a 180-hour applied practice experience.

Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
No mandatory campus visits
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Required

    180-hour applied practice experience; can be completed at the student's current place of employment.

    Student's workplace possible

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree from an accredited college or university.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA of 3.0 preferred.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose and objectives (via SOPHAS).
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of reference.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume/CV.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredScores may be submitted optionally.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International students; Academic IELTS.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International students; iBT, MyBest accepted.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
PTE Academic
Required — minimum 53International students; PTE Academic.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 105International students.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 15 (complete and verified by SOPHAS) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • International applicants

    May 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 20 (complete and verified by SOPHAS) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • International applicants

    October 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)$686per creditEstimated tuition$28,812 = 42 credits × $686 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online Learning Student Support (OLSS) Fee (capped at $75 per course)
$25 per creditMandatory
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council on Education for Public Health — Program carries Council on Education for Public Health accreditation.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.wvu.edu/military/tuition-rates/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/public-health-mph/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.wvu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/online-fee-faqs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS) · Epidemiology
Administering location: Chapel Hill, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Synchronous (live sessions) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 24–36 months for most students (part-time); in as few as 24 months full-time; 60 months maximum (part-time pace for most students) · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,735 per credit · All online students · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 20, 2026 · January 2027
View program
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS) · Epidemiology
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $575 per credit · All online students — Per credit hour (Illinois Online program cost table)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS)
Administering location: Amherst, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous · Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 2.5-3 years (part time) (Part-time study) · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $675 per credit · All online students — SPHHS online graduate courses, as of Fall 2025
Next deadline: October 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.