West Virginia University · WVU School of Social Work, Eberly College of Arts and Sciences
Social Work, M.S.W. - Regular Standing
Overview
A 60-credit, part-time online MSW for applicants with a bachelor's degree outside social work, taking about three years and including 900 field hours completed near the student's residence. Orientation, advising meetings and field placements are not asynchronous.
- Official program name
- Social Work, M.S.W. - Regular Standing
- Awarded degree
- Master of Social WorkSource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- University
- West Virginia University — WVU School of Social Work, Eberly College of Arts and SciencesSource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Administering location
- Morgantown, WVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Required credits
- 19 courses / 60 creditsSource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- 3 years (part-time)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Start terms
- Spring, FallSource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
Part-time online asynchronous MSW with in-person field placements near the student's residence.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Practical placement requiredSource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Class schedule
- AsynchronousSource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Study intensity
- Part-timeSource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
In-person and practical requirements as published
Fieldwork Required
900 field hours: 300-hour foundation placement and 600-hour advanced placement, in person near the student's residence; employer-based placements possible for some students.
Near the student's place of residence
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026Orientation Required
MSW orientation and advising meetings cannot be completed asynchronously.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Academic calendar
- 16-week courses.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution, or a graduate degree.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 2.75 — At least a 2.75 overall GPA; provisional admission possible below 2.75.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredAdmission essay.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required2 letters — Two professional letters of recommendation.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredCurrent resume.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- International applicants
- RequiredInternational applicants living outside the United States are not eligible for the online MSW.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Year not printed
Application deadline
October 15 (final) · for Spring 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Year not printed
Other deadline
November 1 (early decision) · for Fall 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Year not printed
Priority deadline
February 1 · for Fall 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Year not printed
Application deadline
May 1 (final; rolling review after February 1) · for Fall 2027
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified) | $768 | per creditEstimated tuition$46,080 = 60 credits × $768 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Other published fees
- Online Learning Student Support (OLSS) Fee (capped at $75 per course)
- $25 per creditMandatorySource: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Scholarships and financial aid
School of Social Work scholarships Institutional scholarship
Eligibility: Fall applicants who apply by the early decision (November 1) or priority (February 1) deadline
Deadline: February 1
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026Undergraduate military tuition rate Tuition discount
$250 per credit hour
Eligibility: Active-duty U.S. Armed Forces members approved to use Federal Tuition Assistance, enrolled in a fully online undergraduate program
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
- Council on Social Work Education — Program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
State authorization
- West Virginia is a SARA member; WVU became a SARA participant in 2014. Official pageSource: accreditation.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional licensure
- WVU programs may not meet licensure requirements outside West Virginia; programs requiring placements may have state placement restrictions. State-by-state disclosureSource: accreditation.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Completion of a West Virginia University program may not meet educational requirements for licensure or certification in a state other than West Virginia. State-by-state disclosureSource: accreditation.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.
International applicants
Not verified for this online program.
Sources and verification
- accreditation.wvu.edu/professional-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
- accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
- online.wvu.edu/military/tuition-rates/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
- online.wvu.edu/programs/masters-degrees/social-work-msw-regular/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- online.wvu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/online-fee-faqs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.