Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

West Virginia University · Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources

Occupational Safety and Health, Ph.D.

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Occupational Safety and Health

Overview

A 42-credit online PhD (18 credits of coursework and 24 credits of dissertation research) from the Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources, delivered asynchronously over approximately four years, with an optional on-campus lab experience.

Official program name
Occupational Safety and Health, Ph.D.
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Occupational Safety and Health
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate
University
West Virginia University — Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Morgantown, WVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
42 credits (18 coursework, 24 research)
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Approximately 4 years
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online asynchronous PhD; on-campus experience is optional.

Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Optional campus visits
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Campus visit Optional

    Optional on-campus experience with access to WVU lab facilities.

    WVU campus

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree in a safety-related field; a direct BS to PhD track is offered for applicants with an exceptional academic record.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3.5 — GPA of 3.5 or better out of 4.0; lower GPAs considered with relevant research experience.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose outlining research topic, gap, methodology and feasibility.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurriculum vitae.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)$805per creditEstimated tuition$33,810 = 42 credits × $805 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online Learning Student Support (OLSS) Fee (capped at $75 per course)
$25 per creditMandatory
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.wvu.edu/military/tuition-rates/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.wvu.edu/programs/doctoral-programs/occupational-safety-health-phd/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.wvu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/online-fee-faqs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS) · Health Care Management
Administering location: Chapel Hill, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Part-time
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: 3 years (part time) (part time) · 49 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.