Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

West Virginia University · WVU School of Nursing

Nursing, R.N. to B.S.N.

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing

Overview

An online asynchronous RN to BSN program of 30 nursing credits for licensed registered nurses, with direct and indirect clinical experiences built into courses and a capstone completed in the student's community.

Official program name
Nursing, R.N. to B.S.N.
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
University
West Virginia University — WVU School of Nursing
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Morgantown, WVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
8 courses / 30 nursing credits (120 credits minimum to graduate, including 50 transferred nursing credits for RN license)
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
1-2 years; as few as two semesters (as few as two semesters with a flexible curriculum (conditions not further stated))A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Entry pathway

Credential-specific pathway. Requires a specific credential, such as an RN license for an RN-to-BSN.

Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Credits that must be earned at the institution
Required30 credits — Last 30 consecutive credits taken with WVU.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Prior college credits
Required50 undifferentiated nursing credits transferred based on RN licensure.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Why this program is listed

100% online RN to BSN completion program with clinical experiences included in courses.

Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Clinical placement Required

    Direct and indirect clinical experiences in courses; no faculty-led clinical hours; capstone project completed in the student's own community.

    Student's own community

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • NSG 475 Applied Research and Evidence-Based Practice is the capstone course.
    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other

  • The last 30 consecutive credits must be taken with WVU (residency does not require living in West Virginia).
    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredDiploma or associate degree in nursing from a nationally accredited program.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.5 — Minimum cumulative GPA of 2.5 on all college-level work; provisional admission possible below 2.5.
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 1 (transcripts by November 15) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    March 1 (transcripts by March 15) · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    July 1 (transcripts by July 15) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)$634per creditEstimated tuition$19,020 = 30 credits × $634 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Military rate (eligible active-duty students using Federal TA)From the university's online tuition table$250per creditEstimated tuition$7,500 = 30 credits × $250 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online Learning Student Support (OLSS) Fee (capped at $75 per course)
$25 per creditMandatory
Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Baccalaureate degree program in nursing accredited by CCNE.Source: online.wvu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. accreditation.wvu.edu/professional-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. accreditation.wvu.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.wvu.edu/military/tuition-rates/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.wvu.edu/programs/bachelors-degrees/nursing-rn-to-bsn/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. online.wvu.edu/programs/doctoral-programs/nursing-practice-dnp/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. online.wvu.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/online-fee-faqs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Excelsior University

RN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Bachelor'sBSCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Albany, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $410 per credit · All online students — RN to BS in Nursing per-credit tuition (effective Spring 2026 trimester registration)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

RN to BSN

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
University of South Dakota logo

University of South Dakota

Nursing (RN to BSN)

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Vermillion, SDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 16 months (if all other required general education courses are complete (2024 announcement))
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with West Virginia University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.