Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Online Doctoral Programs at Universities in West Virginia

Listings in West Virginia identify where the institution (or its administering campus) is located. They do not mean you must live there, and an online degree based in West Virginia is not automatically open to every West Virginia resident or to international applicants — check each program's state authorization and licensure notes.

Listed alphabetically by university. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

American Public University System

Doctor of Global Security (DGS)

Professional doctorateDGSDoctor of Global Security
Subject: International Relations · Homeland Security & Emergency Management
Administering location: Charles Town, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 1/2 years plus dissertation; maximum 7 years · 58 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $863 per credit · Doctoral program cost per credit
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · September 2027
View program

American Public University System

Doctor of Strategic Intelligence (DSI)

Professional doctorateDSIDoctor of Strategic Intelligence
Subject: Homeland Security & Emergency Management · International Relations
Administering location: Charles Town, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 1/2 years plus dissertation; maximum 7 years · 58 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $863 per credit · Doctoral program cost per credit
Next deadline: April 1, 2027 · September 2027
View program
Marshall University logo

Marshall University

Business Administration, DBA

Professional doctorateDBADoctor of Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA) · Accounting · Healthcare Administration
Administering location: Huntington, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: three-year program · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $963.50 per credit · Online graduate program rate, COB Doctor Business Administration (no residency distinction printed) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Marshall University logo

Marshall University

Leadership Studies, EdD

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership Studies
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Huntington, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $598 per credit · Online graduate program rate, COEPD EdD/EdS/Programs with Clinicals (no residency distinction printed) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

West Virginia University

Nursing Practice, D.N.P.

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3-4 years · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $867 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

West Virginia University

Occupational Safety and Health, Ph.D.

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Occupational Safety and Health
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: Approximately 4 years · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $805 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program