Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Fitchburg State University

Fitchburg, MAPublic NECHESchool of Graduate, Online and Continuing Education (SGOCE)

Fitchburg State University in Fitchburg, Massachusetts, offers online bachelor's and master's degrees through its School of Graduate, Online and Continuing Education, including accelerated 7-week online programs (MBA, MEd, RN-to-BSN) with all-inclusive per-credit tuition that is the same for in-state and out-of-state students.

Verified online degrees

7 programs verified so far (2 bachelor's, 5 master's). The university may offer more online degrees than we have verified.

Fitchburg State University

Online Bachelor's in Business Administration

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryBachelor of Science in Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA)
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: two years (Accelerated online format; the page does not state further conditions.) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $327 per credit · All online students — Undergraduate SGOCE course cost per credit (tuition plus mandatory fees), Fall 2026 through Summer 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Fitchburg State University

Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing Online

Bachelor'sBSCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as few as 12 months (Students who need only the nursing program courses and carry two courses per 7-week session) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $311 per credit · All online students — RN to BSN, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

Fitchburg State University

History, MA (online)

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in History
Subject: History
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as three years; six years allowed (Conditional minimum; condition not stated.) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $347 per credit · All online students — Graduate SGOCE course cost per credit (tuition plus mandatory fees), Fall 2026 through Summer 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA) · Management
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $436 per credit · All online students — Online MBA, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

Fitchburg State University

Online Master of Science in Forensic Nursing

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Forensic Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as few as three years; six years allowed (Conditional minimum; condition not stated.) · 39 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $347 per credit · All online students — Graduate SGOCE course cost per credit (tuition plus mandatory fees), Fall 2026 through Summer 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Fitchburg State University

Online Master's in Criminal Justice

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Criminal Justice
Subject: Criminal Justice
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: one year; up to six years allowed
Tuition: Tuition: $347 per credit · All online students — Graduate SGOCE course cost per credit (tuition plus mandatory fees), Fall 2026 through Summer 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since December 1, 1953 · next review 12/31/2032

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

The university states: “Accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)” Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institutional accreditation covers the institution. It does not by itself mean a program is accredited by a specialized accreditor or that it leads to a professional license; programmatic accreditation is shown on each program page.

Online student services

Services the university publishes for online students. Availability can depend on program and enrollment status.

Online student services: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Where online students can enroll from

State authorization (can the university enroll you online from your state?) and professional licensure (does a program meet your state's licensing requirements?) are separate questions.

State authorization

  • Fitchburg State University has been approved under SARA to operate its distance education programs in SARA-approved locations.
    Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure disclosures

  • Currently, Fitchburg State University cannot confirm if programs meet the prerequisites for professional licensure or certification outside of Massachusetts. Official disclosuresSource: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International students

  • I-20s are not issued for online programs; students in the U.S. on an F-1 visa are not eligible for the online RN to BS program. International applicants submit credential evaluations and English proficiency scores.
    Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope.
  • Forensic Nursing Graduate CertificateGraduate certificate, not a degree.Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Online Ed.S. programs (e.g. Educational Leadership and Management, Reading Specialist) (Education Specialist)Education Specialist is a post-master's credential, not a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree in scope.Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution

Official name
Fitchburg State University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Main location
160 Pearl St, Fitchburg, MA 01420-2697
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Students enrolled exclusively in distance education
2,803 of 6,296 students (Fall 2023)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 10, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. IPEDS Fall 2023 enrollment by distance-education status (EF2023A_DIST) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.fitchburgstate.edu/degrees/education/curriculum-and-teaching/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.fitchburgstate.edu/degrees/nursing/rn-to-bsn/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  6. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/100-online — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/100-online/state-authorization-and-distance-education — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  8. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/graduate-academics/graduate-and-continuing-education-division/100-onlin — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  9. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/programs/online-master-science-forensic-nursing — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  10. fitchburgstate.edu/resources/current-students/student-accounts/graduate-continuing-and-evening-tuiti — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile

Fitchburg State University Online Degrees (Bachelor's, Master's) | Online Universities