Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing Online
Overview
An accelerated online RN-to-BS in Nursing for licensed nurses: 32 nursing credits in 7-week courses, including two clinical practicum courses, within a 120-credit degree. Tuition is $311 per credit with fees included and the same for in-state and out-of-state students.
- Official program name
- Registered Nurse to Bachelor of Science in Nursing Online
- Awarded degree
- Bachelor of Science in NursingSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Bachelor's
- University
- Administering location
- Fitchburg, MAWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Required credits
- 120 credit hours total (32 nursing program credits plus 88 additional credits)Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- as few as 12 months (Students who need only the nursing program courses and carry two courses per 7-week session)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Start terms
- Spring, Summer, FallSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Entry pathway
Credential-specific pathway. Requires a specific credential, such as an RN license for an RN-to-BSN.
Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026- Professional license
- RequiredValid nursing license in good standingSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Why this program is listed
Accelerated online RN-to-BS in Nursing including two clinical practicum courses.
Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Practical placement requiredSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Practicum Required
Two clinical practicum courses (location and hours not stated)
Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Academic calendar
- 7-week coursesSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Capstone
- NURS 4600 RN to BS Capstone tied to the practicum placementSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Admissions
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 2.5 — Minimum 2.5 GPA on prior courseworkSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredStatement of purposeSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Application fee
- WaivedNo application fee for new RN to BS in Nursing studentsSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tests
- TOEFL iBT
- Required — minimum 79Required for natives of non-English-speaking countries; iBT 79 or paper-based 550.Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Upcoming
Application deadline
December 14, 2026 · for Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Upcoming
Application deadline
February 8, 2027 · for Spring B 2027 (classes start 3/9/27)
Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All online students — RN to BSN, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included | $311 | per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$37,320 = 120 credits × $311 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
| All online students — RN to BSN nursing program courses (32 credits); general education courses cost extra | $9,952 | entire programIncludes feesSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
- Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Baccalaureate degree in nursing accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing EducationSource: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
State authorization
- Fitchburg State University has been approved under SARA to operate its distance education programs in SARA-approved locations. Official pageSource: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional licensure
- The university cannot confirm whether programs meet licensure or certification prerequisites outside Massachusetts. State-by-state disclosureSource: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Currently, Fitchburg State University cannot confirm if programs meet the prerequisites for professional licensure or certification outside of Massachusetts. State-by-state disclosureSource: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.
International applicants
- I-20s are not issued for online programs; students in the U.S. on an F-1 visa are not eligible for the online RN to BS program. International applicants submit credential evaluations and English proficiency scores.Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Sources and verification
- online.fitchburgstate.edu/degrees/nursing/rn-to-bsn/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- fitchburgstate.edu/academics/100-online/state-authorization-and-distance-education — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Nursing (RN to BSN)
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Fitchburg State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.