Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Fitchburg State University

History, MA (online)

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in History

Overview

A 30-credit MA in History with online courses in US, European and world history that may be completed fully online, in as few as three years with six years allowed. Admission requires a bachelor's degree, two letters of recommendation, a resume and a writing sample; GRE and MAT are not required.

Official program name
History, MA (online)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in History
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Fitchburg, MAWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 credits
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
as few as three years; six years allowed (Conditional minimum; condition not stated.)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MA that may be completed 100% online.

Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution, preferably with a history major or minor
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredProfessional resume
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredWriting sample of at least 10 double-spaced pages with footnotes and bibliography
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Miller Analogies Test
Not required
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for All terms

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Graduate SGOCE course cost per credit (tuition plus mandatory fees), Fall 2026 through Summer 2027From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$347per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$10,410 = 30 credits × $347 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online program fee (M.A. in History)
$58 per creditMandatory
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Fitchburg State University has been approved under SARA to operate its distance education programs in SARA-approved locations. Official pageSource: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • I-20s are not issued for online programs; students in the U.S. on an F-1 visa are not eligible for the online RN to BS program. International applicants submit credential evaluations and English proficiency scores.Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/100-online/state-authorization-and-distance-education — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/programs/history-ma-online — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. fitchburgstate.edu/resources/current-students/student-accounts/graduate-continuing-and-evening-tuiti — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Norwich University logo

Norwich University

Master of Arts in Military History

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Military History
Subject: History
Administering location: Northfield, VTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 18 months average time to program completion (average for students) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $725 per credit · All online students · 2026-2027
Next deadline: February 12, 2027 · Spring 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Fitchburg State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.