Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Fitchburg State University

Online Master of Science in Forensic Nursing

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Forensic Nursing

Overview

A 39-credit, 13-course online MS in Forensic Nursing for registered nurses that includes 420 hours of clinical training in real-world facilities. It can be completed in as few as three years with six years allowed; admission requires a BSN, a current RN license with one year of experience, three references and a two-part essay.

Official program name
Online Master of Science in Forensic Nursing
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Forensic Nursing
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Fitchburg, MAWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
39 credits / 13 courses
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
as few as three years; six years allowed (Conditional minimum; condition not stated.)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online master's in nursing with 420 required clinical hours.

Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Clinical placement Required

    420 hours of clinical training in forensic healthcare settings

    Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredOfficial transcript from a regionally accredited baccalaureate nursing program
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrent RN license (non-U.S. residents: current license from their country)
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RequiredAt least one year of working experience as an RN
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredWritten two-part essay
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three professional letters of recommendation, one from a nurse academician
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — Graduate application and $50 fee
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Background check
OptionalCORI may be required by certain clinical agencies, possibly at the student's expense
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for All terms

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Graduate SGOCE course cost per credit (tuition plus mandatory fees), Fall 2026 through Summer 2027From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$347per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$13,533 = 39 credits × $347 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online program fee (M.S. in Forensic Nursing)
$58 per creditMandatory
Source: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Master's degrees in nursing accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing EducationSource: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • Fitchburg State University has been approved under SARA to operate its distance education programs in SARA-approved locations. Official pageSource: fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • I-20s are not issued for online programs; students in the U.S. on an F-1 visa are not eligible for the online RN to BS program. International applicants submit credential evaluations and English proficiency scores.Source: online.fitchburgstate.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/100-online/state-authorization-and-distance-education — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. fitchburgstate.edu/academics/programs/online-master-science-forensic-nursing — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. fitchburgstate.edu/resources/current-students/student-accounts/graduate-continuing-and-evening-tuiti — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 7 semesters, beginning with a fall admission · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

MSN Family Nurse Practitioner

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $752 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Hawaii Pacific University logo

Hawaii Pacific University

Online MSN-FNP Program

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Honolulu, HIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: As few as 24 months (Minimum completion time) · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,156 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: December 18, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Fitchburg State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.