Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill · Gillings School of Global Public Health

The Online Executive Doctoral Program in Health Leadership

Professional doctorateDrPHDoctor of Public Health

Overview

A 49-credit, part-time online executive Doctor of Public Health in health leadership with weekly live sessions, six on-site visits, a practicum project, comprehensive exams and a dissertation.

Official program name
The Online Executive Doctoral Program in Health Leadership
Awarded degree
Doctor of Public Health
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Chapel Hill, NCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
49 credits (9 courses)
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
3 years (part time) (part time)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online executive DrPH with six required on-site visits over the first two years.

Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits required
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Campus visit Required

    Three times a year in the first two years (six visits); one may be international or elsewhere in the U.S.

    three times a year during the first two years · Campus; one visit may be elsewhere

    Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Practicum Required

    Practicum project in a relevant organization

    Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Dissertation defense Required

    Present and defend dissertation proposal in the second year; format not stated

    Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Dissertation on a current or past public health issue, concentrated in the third year
    Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Academic calendar

  • Live classes Tuesdays (year 1) and Wednesdays (year 2), 4-7 p.m. Eastern
    Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredPrior master's or doctoral degree
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of at least 3.0 in prior graduate study
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RequiredFull-time employment in the field and at least five years of post-graduate health experience with mid- to senior-level responsibilities
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Council on Education for Public Health — The Gillings School is accredited by the Council on Education for Public HealthSource: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • UNC-Chapel Hill participates in NC-SARA and is authorized to offer distance education in all 50 states, DC and U.S. territories. Official pageSource: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • UNC states online graduate programs let working professionals and global students earn a Carolina credential from anywhere in the world.Source: online.unc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online.unc.edu/legal/state-authorization-information-and-student-complaint-process/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.unc.edu/online-doctoral-programs/online-drph/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

West Virginia University

Occupational Safety and Health, Ph.D.

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Occupational Safety and Health
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: Approximately 4 years · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $805 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.