Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of Southern Maine campus — Corthell Hall, University of Southern Maine, Gorham Maine
Corthell Hall, University of Southern Maine, Gorham Maine. Campus photograph; online students study remotely. · Photo: John Phelan · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Portland, MEPublic NECHEUSM Online

The University of Southern Maine, a member of the University of Maine System based in Portland, Maine, lists online undergraduate, degree completion, master's and doctoral programs through USM Online. Students matriculated in fully online programs pay an e-tuition rate that is the same for in-state, out-of-state and Canadian students.

Verified online degrees

7 programs verified so far (2 bachelor's, 3 master's, 2 doctoral). The university may offer more online degrees than we have verified.

University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Communication | Online

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryBachelor of Arts in Communication
Subject: Communication
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: typical completion time 4 years
Tuition: Tuition: $11,100 (basis not stated by the institution) · All online students — Undergraduate online e-tuition for 30 credit hours (in-state, out-of-state and Canadian) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Leadership and Organizational Studies — Integrative Professional Studies | Online

Bachelor'sBSDegree completionBachelor of Science in Leadership and Organizational Studies
Subject: Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $11,100 (basis not stated by the institution) · All online students — Undergraduate online e-tuition for 30 credit hours (in-state, out-of-state and Canadian) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Cybersecurity | Online

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Cybersecurity
Subject: Cybersecurity
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 2 years full-time; 4 years part-time (2 years only with full-time study) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — Graduate online e-tuition (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Educational Leadership | Accelerated Online

Master'sMSEdMaster of Science in Education in Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as few as 14 months (Accelerated 7-week courses) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — Accelerated online e-tuition (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 30, 2026 · Spring 2027 (Session 1)
View program
Subject: Nursing Education · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as little as one year (Faster pace than one course every seven weeks) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — Accelerated online e-tuition (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 30, 2026 · Spring 2027 (Session 1)
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Leadership (PhD)

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Leadership
Subject: Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 4 years · 72 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — E-tuition, online programs and Leadership PhD (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Post-Professional Occupational Therapy | Online

Professional doctorateOTDOccupational Therapy Doctorate
Subject: Occupational Therapy
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 5 semesters full-time; 8 semesters part-time (5 semesters only with full-time study) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since December 1, 1960 · next review 06/30/2033

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Institutional accreditation covers the institution. It does not by itself mean a program is accredited by a specialized accreditor or that it leads to a professional license; programmatic accreditation is shown on each program page.

Online student services

Services the university publishes for online students. Availability can depend on program and enrollment status.

Online student services: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Where online students can enroll from

State authorization (can the university enroll you online from your state?) and professional licensure (does a program meet your state's licensing requirements?) are separate questions.

State authorization

  • USM is a member of NC-SARA, which covers distance education and on-site experiences outside Maine such as clinical placements and internships.
    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure disclosures

  • The University cannot confirm that its courses or degree programs meet the requirements for professional licensure outside of Maine, with the exception of those states indicated within specific program listings Official disclosuresSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope.
  • Online Certificates of Graduate Study and Certificates of Advanced StudyCertificates, not degrees.Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution

Official name
University of Southern Maine
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Main location
96 Falmouth St, Portland, ME 04103
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Students enrolled exclusively in distance education
1,829 of 7,528 students (Fall 2023)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 10, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. IPEDS Fall 2023 enrollment by distance-education status (EF2023A_DIST) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/communication-ba-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/cybersecurity-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/educational-leadership-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/leadership-phd/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  8. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/nursing-education-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  9. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/post-professional-occupational-therapy/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  10. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/public-health-mph/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  11. usm.maine.edu/provost/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  12. usm.maine.edu/usm-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  13. usm.maine.edu/usm-online/graduate/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile