Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine · School of Nursing

Nursing Education – MSN | Accelerated Online

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing

Overview

A 36-credit accelerated online MSN in Nursing Education with 7-week courses and six start dates a year, ending in a teaching practicum. Applicants need a nursing baccalaureate and an RN license in the state where the practicum will be completed.

Official program name
Nursing Education – MSN | Accelerated Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Nursing
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Portland, MEWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
36 required credit hours
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
as little as one year (Faster pace than one course every seven weeks)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Accelerated online MSN with 7-week courses and a culminating teaching practicum; described as a fully online program.

Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Required

    Culminating practicum that includes teaching in a variety of settings; location not stated.

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • Accelerated 7-week online courses with six start dates each year.
    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RecommendedBaccalaureate degree in nursing from a CCNE- or NLN-accredited program.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredUnencumbered, current RN license in the state where the practicum will be completed.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale; below 3.0 may submit GRE or MAT scores.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedUndergraduate statistics course with a grade of C or better.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational applicants who require F-1 student visa sponsorship are not eligible for this fully online program.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredApplicants with a GPA below 3.0 may submit GRE or MAT scores.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 30, 2026 · for Spring 2027 (Session 1)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    March 3, 2027 · for Spring 2027 (Session 2)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 26, 2027 · for Summer 2027 (Session 1)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    June 16, 2027 · for Summer 2027 (Session 2)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Accelerated online e-tuition (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$548per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$19,728 = 36 credits × $548 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Mandatory fees (Comprehensive and Technology Fees)
$107 per creditMandatory
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education.Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • USM is a member of NC-SARA, which covers distance education and on-site experiences outside Maine such as clinical placements and internships. Official pageSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

  • The program meets the educational criteria for the NLN Certified Nurse Educator exam; licensure determinations outside Maine are listed per program by the University of Maine System. State-by-state disclosureSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • The University cannot confirm that its courses or degree programs meet the requirements for professional licensure outside of Maine, with the exception of those states indicated within specific program listings State-by-state disclosureSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/nursing-education-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. usm.maine.edu/provost/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. usm.maine.edu/student-financial-services/graduate-tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 7 semesters, beginning with a fall admission · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

MSN Family Nurse Practitioner

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $752 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Hawaii Pacific University logo

Hawaii Pacific University

Online MSN-FNP Program

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Honolulu, HIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: As few as 24 months (Minimum completion time) · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,156 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: December 18, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Southern Maine. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.