
University of Southern Maine · Communication and Media Studies Department
Communication | Online
Overview
A Bachelor of Arts in Communication from the Communication and Media Studies Department that can be completed fully online or in a blended format. Fully online students pay the e-tuition rate; typical completion time is four years.
- Official program name
- Communication | Online
- Awarded degree
- Bachelor of Arts in CommunicationSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Bachelor's
- University
- Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Administering location
- Portland, MEWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Required credits
- Not verified
- Duration
- typical completion time 4 yearsSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Entry pathway
Full degree from first-year entry. Open to applicants without prior college credit (freshman admission).
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026Why this program is listed
Undergraduate major offered fully online (also available blended).
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Placement requirement: not verified
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Other in-person requirement Not verified
Some online classes may require attending via Zoom at scheduled meeting times.
Online
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Admissions
Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tests
- SAT / ACT
- OptionalSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All online students — Undergraduate online e-tuition for 30 credit hours (in-state, out-of-state and Canadian)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level | $11,100 | (basis not stated by the institution) · 2026-2027Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Other published fees
- Mandatory fees for 30 credit hours (Comprehensive, Technology and Student Activity Fees)
- $3,390MandatorySource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.
State authorization
- USM is a member of NC-SARA, which covers distance education and on-site experiences outside Maine such as clinical placements and internships. Official pageSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
International applicants
Not verified for this online program.
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/communication-ba-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- usm.maine.edu/provost/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
- usm.maine.edu/student-financial-services/undergraduate-tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
- usm.maine.edu/usm-online/undergraduate/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Southern Maine. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.