Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine · Educational Leadership & Adult and Higher Education

Educational Leadership | Accelerated Online

Master'sMSEdMaster of Science in Education in Educational Leadership

Overview

A 36-credit accelerated online Master of Science in Education in Educational Leadership with 7-week courses and six start dates a year, aligned to the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders. It is approved by the state of Maine for PK-12 leadership certification and includes fieldwork.

Official program name
Educational Leadership | Accelerated Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Education in Educational Leadership
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Portland, MEWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
36 required credit hours
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
as few as 14 months (Accelerated 7-week courses)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online accelerated MSEd (a blended version also exists); includes fieldwork.

Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Fieldwork Required

    Fieldwork and research supported by a faculty member and a current K-12 principal; location not stated.

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.5 — Cumulative GPA of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale; otherwise a letter requesting special consideration.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RequiredAdministrative strand: two years of teaching experience, completing the third year during graduate study.
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 30, 2026 · for Spring 2027 (Session 1)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    March 3, 2027 · for Spring 2027 (Session 2)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 26, 2027 · for Summer 2027 (Session 1)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    June 16, 2027 · for Summer 2027 (Session 2)

    Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Accelerated online e-tuition (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$548per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$19,728 = 36 credits × $548 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Mandatory fees (Comprehensive and Technology Fees)
$107 per creditMandatory
Source: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • USM is a member of NC-SARA, which covers distance education and on-site experiences outside Maine such as clinical placements and internships. Official pageSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

  • Approved by the state of Maine for certification in PK-12 leadership roles; Maine requires three years of teaching experience for administrator certification. State-by-state disclosureSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • The University cannot confirm that its courses or degree programs meet the requirements for professional licensure outside of Maine, with the exception of those states indicated within specific program listings State-by-state disclosureSource: usm.maine.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. usm.maine.edu/academics/academic_programs/educational-leadership-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. usm.maine.edu/provost/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. usm.maine.edu/student-financial-services/graduate-tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Southern Maine. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.