Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Franklin University campus — Franklin University Clock Tower, with Fisher Hall and Partial Columbus Skyline in Background. Columbus, Ohio, USA.
Franklin University Clock Tower, with Fisher Hall and Partial Columbus Skyline in Background. Columbus, Ohio, USA.. Campus photograph; online students study remotely. · Photo: Christopher Simons · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source

Franklin University

Columbus, OHPrivate nonprofit HLC

Franklin University in Columbus, Ohio, offers bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees online, many in 6- and 12-week course formats with multiple start dates per year. Published 2026-2027 standard tuition is $398 per credit for undergraduate programs, $690 per credit for master's programs and $828 per credit for doctoral programs.

Verified online degrees

8 programs verified so far (2 bachelor's, 4 master's, 2 doctoral). The university may offer more online degrees than we have verified.

Franklin University

Computer Science Bachelor's Degree Program

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryBachelor of Science in Computer Science
Subject: Computer Science
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 124 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $398 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Franklin University

Nursing (RN-BSN)

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as few as 12 months (Conditional minimum; the page does not state the condition (transfer credit applied).) · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $298 per credit · All online students — B.S. in Nursing · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Franklin University

M.Ed. in Curriculum & Instruction

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in Curriculum & Instruction
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 12 Month Completion · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $690 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Franklin University

Master of Public Administration (MPA)

Master'sMPAMaster of Public Administration
Subject: Public Administration
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 14 Month Completion · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $690 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Franklin University

MBA

Master'sMBAMaster of Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA)
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 12 Month Completion · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $690 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: approximately 27 months · 49 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $690 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Franklin University

Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)

Professional doctorateDBADoctor of Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA) · Management
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 3 years (Conditional minimum; condition not stated on the page (includes one year for the dissertation).) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $828 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Franklin University

Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) in Organizational Leadership

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Organizational Leadership
Subject: Organizational Leadership · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 3 years (Conditional minimum; condition not stated on the page (includes one year for the dissertation).) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $828 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1976 · next review 08/31/2028

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

The university states: “Accredited by the Higher Learning Commission” Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institutional accreditation covers the institution. It does not by itself mean a program is accredited by a specialized accreditor or that it leads to a professional license; programmatic accreditation is shown on each program page.

Online student services

Services the university publishes for online students. Availability can depend on program and enrollment status.

Online student services: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Where online students can enroll from

State authorization (can the university enroll you online from your state?) and professional licensure (does a program meet your state's licensing requirements?) are separate questions.

State authorization

  • Franklin University participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) and has been a participating member since September 14, 2015.
    Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure disclosures

International students

  • Students outside the U.S. may be eligible to earn a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree by taking 100% of courses online; the Office of International Students and Programs determines eligibility.
    Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope.
  • Associate degreesAssociate degrees are out of scope.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution

Official name
Franklin University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Main location
201 S Grant Ave, Columbus, OH 43215-5399
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Students enrolled exclusively in distance education
7,918 of 8,697 students (Fall 2023)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 10, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. IPEDS Fall 2023 enrollment by distance-education status (EF2023A_DIST) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. franklin.edu/about-us/university-details/accreditation — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. franklin.edu/about-us/university-details/state-authorization-professional-licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. franklin.edu/admissions/international-students/earn-your-degree-online — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  7. franklin.edu/degrees — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  8. franklin.edu/degrees/bachelors/computer-science — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile