Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Franklin University

Nursing-Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN-FNP)

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing

Overview

A 49-credit MSN with a family nurse practitioner track, delivered through online courses over about 27 months. Students complete 600 clinical hours at an approved practice site and a required on-site skills lab; admission requires a BSN or ADN, an unencumbered RN license and a 3.0 GPA.

Official program name
Nursing-Family Nurse Practitioner (MSN-FNP)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Nursing
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Columbus, OHWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
49 credit hours
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
approximately 27 months
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MSN with online coursework plus required local clinical hours and an on-site skills lab.

Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Clinical placement Required

    600 clinical hours (150 per semester for four semesters) at an approved clinical practice site

    About 1.5-2 days a week during clinical courses · Approved clinical practice site selected by the student

    Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Required on-site skills lab during the last year of study (location not stated)

    Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBSN or Associate Degree in Nursing
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredValid, active and unencumbered RN license
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — At least a 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale (petition possible below)
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Credits that must be earned at the institution
RequiredAt least 28 of the 49 credits earned at Franklin University
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Standard tuition$690per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$33,810 = 49 credits × $690 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Clinical course fee (NURS 700, 701, 702, 703, 790), 2026-27
$334 per courseMandatory
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Background check and clinical/practicum screening fee (NURS 612)
$150Mandatory
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Resource fee
$100 per semesterMandatory
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Master of Science in Nursing accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing EducationSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • Franklin University participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) and has been a participating member since September 14, 2015. Official pageSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • Students outside the U.S. may be eligible to earn a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree by taking 100% of courses online; the Office of International Students and Programs determines eligibility.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. franklin.edu/about-us/university-details/state-authorization-professional-licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. franklin.edu/degrees/masters/msn-programs/msn-fnp — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 7 semesters, beginning with a fall admission · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

MSN Family Nurse Practitioner

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $752 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Hawaii Pacific University logo

Hawaii Pacific University

Online MSN-FNP Program

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Honolulu, HIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: As few as 24 months (Minimum completion time) · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,156 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: December 18, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Franklin University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.