Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) in Organizational Leadership
Overview
A 60-credit online EdD in Organizational Leadership with six focus areas and a dissertation with an oral defense; the page lists completion in as few as 3 years. Admission requires a master's or doctoral degree with a 3.0 GPA, and 2026-2027 standard tuition is $828 per credit.
- Official program name
- Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) in Organizational Leadership
- Awarded degree
- Doctor of Education in Organizational LeadershipSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Doctoral — professional doctorate
- University
- Administering location
- Columbus, OHWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Specializations
- Curriculum & Instruction · Educational Technology · Higher Education Leadership · Instructional Design Leadership · Leadership Dynamics & Organizational Behavior · PK-12 Educational LeadershipSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Required credits
- 60 credit hoursSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- as few as 3 years (Conditional minimum; condition not stated on the page (includes one year for the dissertation).)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Start terms
- Spring, Summer, FallSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
Professional doctorate presented as a 100% online program with six focus areas.
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Placement requirement: not verified
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Dissertation defense Required
Oral defense of the dissertation (DISS 9400); format/location not stated
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Dissertation
- Dissertation with oral defense (DISS 9400 Defense of Dissertation)Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Specializations, concentrations and tracks
- Curriculum & InstructionSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Educational TechnologySource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Higher Education LeadershipSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Instructional Design LeadershipSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Leadership Dynamics & Organizational BehaviorSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- PK-12 Educational LeadershipSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredCompleted master's or doctoral degree from an accredited institutionSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — Master's or doctoral degree cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (petition possible below)Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Transfer credit
- OptionalUp to 33 hours of previously earned credit may transferSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Credits that must be earned at the institution
- RequiredAt least 27 of the 60 credits earned in residence at Franklin UniversitySource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Application fee
- Required$50 — Non-refundable application fee of $50Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All online students — Standard tuition | $828 | per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$49,680 = 60 credits × $828 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
| Current service members | $636 | per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$38,160 = 60 credits × $636 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
| International — International students | $899 | per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$53,940 = 60 credits × $899 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Other published fees
- Resource fee
- $100 per semesterMandatorySource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.
State authorization
- Franklin University participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) and has been a participating member since September 14, 2015. Official pageSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional licensure
- State Authorization & Professional Licensure Information Authorization & Academic Approval by State State-by-state disclosureSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.
International applicants
- Students outside the U.S. may be eligible to earn a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree by taking 100% of courses online; the Office of International Students and Programs determines eligibility.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Sources and verification
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- franklin.edu/about-us/university-details/state-authorization-professional-licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
- franklin.edu/degrees/doctoral/education — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- franklin.edu/degrees/doctoral/education/organizational-leadership-focus — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Doctor of Business Administration
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Online Ed.D. in Educational Leadership with a Concentration in Organizational Learning and Leadership
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Franklin University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.