Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Franklin University

Nursing (RN-BSN)

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing

Overview

A 120-credit RN-to-BSN for licensed registered nurses with online coursework in 6-week courses and in-person clinical hours completed in the student's local community. Up to 90 credits may transfer, and 2026-2027 tuition for the BS in Nursing is $298 per credit.

Official program name
Nursing (RN-BSN)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
University
Administering location
Columbus, OHWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
120 credit hours
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
as few as 12 months (Conditional minimum; the page does not state the condition (transfer credit applied).)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Entry pathway

Credential-specific pathway. Requires a specific credential, such as an RN license for an RN-to-BSN.

Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrent RN license in the U.S. or an NCSBN associate-member jurisdiction, maintained throughout the program
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalUp to 90 credits may transfer toward the BSN
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Credits that must be earned at the institution
Required30 credits — Minimum of 30 credit hours completed at Franklin University
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Why this program is listed

Online RN-to-BSN completion degree with in-person clinical hours completed locally.

Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Clinical placement Required

    In-person clinical hours completed in the student's local community

    Student's local community

    Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredGraduate of an associate degree or diploma in nursing program
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — B.S. in Nursing$298per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$35,760 = 120 credits × $298 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Resource fee
$100 per semesterMandatory
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Bachelor of Science in Nursing accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing EducationSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • Franklin University participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) and has been a participating member since September 14, 2015. Official pageSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • Students outside the U.S. may be eligible to earn a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree by taking 100% of courses online; the Office of International Students and Programs determines eligibility.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. franklin.edu/about-us/university-details/state-authorization-professional-licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. franklin.edu/degrees/bachelors/nursing-rn-bsn — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Excelsior University

RN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Bachelor'sBSCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Albany, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $410 per credit · All online students — RN to BS in Nursing per-credit tuition (effective Spring 2026 trimester registration)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

RN to BSN

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
University of South Dakota logo

University of South Dakota

Nursing (RN to BSN)

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Vermillion, SDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 16 months (if all other required general education courses are complete (2024 announcement))
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Franklin University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.