Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Franklin University

Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)

Professional doctorateDBADoctor of Business Administration

Overview

A 60-credit online DBA that includes a dissertation with an oral defense; the page lists completion in as few as 3 years. Admission requires a master's or doctoral degree with a 3.0 GPA, and 2026-2027 standard tuition is $828 per credit.

Official program name
Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Business Administration
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Administering location
Columbus, OHWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
60 credit hours
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
as few as 3 years (Conditional minimum; condition not stated on the page (includes one year for the dissertation).)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Professional doctorate presented as a 100% online program.

Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Oral defense of the dissertation (DISS 9400); format/location not stated

    Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Dissertation with oral defense (DISS 9400 Defense of Dissertation)
    Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredCompleted master's or doctoral degree from an accredited institution
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Master's or doctoral degree cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale (petition possible below)
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalUp to 33 hours of prior-learning credit for previous doctoral work
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Credits that must be earned at the institution
RequiredAt least 27 of the 60 credits earned in residence at Franklin University
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — Non-refundable application fee of $50
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Standard tuition$828per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$49,680 = 60 credits × $828 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Current service members$636per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$38,160 = 60 credits × $636 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
International — International students$899per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$53,940 = 60 credits × $899 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Application fee (non-refundable)
$50Mandatory
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Resource fee
$100 per semesterMandatory
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Graduation application fee
$150Mandatory
Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Franklin University participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) and has been a participating member since September 14, 2015. Official pageSource: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • Students outside the U.S. may be eligible to earn a bachelor's, master's or doctoral degree by taking 100% of courses online; the Office of International Students and Programs determines eligibility.Source: franklin.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. franklin.edu/about-us/university-details/state-authorization-professional-licensure-information — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. franklin.edu/degrees/doctoral/business-administration — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Troy University

Ph.D., Global Leadership, Organizational Leadership

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Global Leadership
Subject: Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Troy, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 63 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $550 per credit · All online students — TROY Online doctoral tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Purdue University Global

Doctor of Business Administration

Professional doctorateDBADoctor of Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA) · Management
Administering location: West Lafayette, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $485 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Chapel Hill, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Part-time
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: 36 months to complete coursework for most students (most students; accelerated completion not available) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $598 per credit · In-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 20, 2026 · January 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Franklin University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.