Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Online Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW) Degrees

Online degrees mapped to social work (bsw, msw, dsw) from the program's official description. A program appears here only when its own page supports the subject.

Listed alphabetically by university. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Programs in this field often lead to a state license. Institutional accreditation does not establish licensure eligibility — each profile links the university's own state-by-state disclosure where one is published.
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Orlando, FLUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Part-time
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits; practical placement required
Duration: 3 years (traditional track); 16 months (advanced standing track) (part-time cohort) · 62 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $487.45 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

iBSW (Bachelor of Social Work)

Bachelor'sBSWTransfer entryBachelor of Social Work
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 44 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $623 per credit · All online students · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Iowa

Iowa MSW Online

Master'sMSWMaster of Social Work
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Iowa City, IAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Part-time, Full-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 2, 3 or 4 years (regular standing); two years (advanced standing) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $667 per credit · Resident rate; also applies to online students residing in Illinois, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota, Minnesota and Wisconsin
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Summer 2027 (advanced standing) / Fall 2027 (regular standing)
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Lawrence, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Traditional: 2 years full-time or 3 to 4 years part-time; Advanced Standing: 1 year full-time or 2 years part-time (Traditional plan of study, full-time)
Tuition: Tuition: $695 per credit · All online students — Flat rate for fully online students, regardless of residency
Next deadline: February 3, 2027 · Summer/Fall 2027
View program

University of Kansas

Online Doctor of Social Work (DSW)

Professional doctorateDSWDoctor of Social Work
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Lawrence, KSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: Two years full-time; three or four years part-time · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $995 per credit · All online students — Flat rate per credit hour, includes fees
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky

Social Work (MSW)

Master'sMSWMaster of Social Work
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Lexington, KYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $806 per credit · Online program rate (residency category not stated on page)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Reno, NVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as few as eight consecutive semesters (traditional, including summers); as few as four semesters / 15 months (advanced standing) (consecutive enrollment including summer terms)
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · In-state — Base in-state program tuition; excludes student fees and differential tuition
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Durham, NHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits; practical placement required
Duration: 28 months · 62 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $800 per credit · In-state — Social Work (MSW) online, NH resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Cedar Falls, IAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 37 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $604 per credit · All online students — Graduate Online Programs · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Norman, OKUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 28+ months · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $645 per credit · All online students — Tuition and fees
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Columbia, SCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: two years (four consecutive semesters) full-time; 11 months on the advanced standing pathway (full-time online pathway) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $572.25 per credit · All online students — Specially priced online program rate (residents and non-residents) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of South Dakota logo

University of South Dakota

Social Work (MSW)

Master'sMSWMaster of Social Work
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Vermillion, SDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $495.70 per credit · All online students — Graduate online tuition (per credit)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Bachelor of Social Work

Bachelor'sBSWBachelor of Social Work
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: three to four semesters for BSW coursework and internships (12 to 15 credits per semester; major coursework) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $556.36 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Utah logo

University of Utah

Master of Social Work (Online)

Master'sMSWMaster of Social Work
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Full-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: advanced standing: one year; two-year option: four semesters (advanced standing requires a BSW earned within seven years) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $641.96 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Milwaukee, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $675 per credit · All online students — Same for in-state and out-of-state; no extra fees
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Richmond, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 12 months (advanced standing) to four years (part-time) (12 months applies to the advanced standing pathway for B.S.W. holders) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $634 per credit · In-state — In-state tuition per credit (online MSW) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 21, 2026 · Spring 2027 (part time)
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous · Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 years (part-time) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $768 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Social Work (BSW, MSW, DSW)
Administering location: Bowling Green, KYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program