
Overview
An online Master of Social Work with a 60-credit regular standing track and a 30-credit advanced standing track for recent BSW graduates. The program requires 900 practicum hours in regular standing and 500 in advanced standing.
- Official program name
- Social Work (MSW)
- Awarded degree
- Master of Social WorkSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- University
- Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Administering location
- Lexington, KYWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Specializations
- Regular Standing (60 credit hours) · Advanced Standing (30 credit hours)Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Required credits
- 30 - 60 total credits depending on trackSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
- Start terms
- Spring, Summer, FallSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
Online MSW with regular (60 credits) and advanced standing (30 credits) tracks; practicum hours required.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Practical placement requiredSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Practicum Required
900 practicum hours (regular standing) or 500 hours (advanced standing).
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Specializations, concentrations and tracks
- Regular Standing (60 credit hours)Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Advanced Standing (30 credit hours)Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredBaccalaureate degree from an accredited U.S. institution or recognized foreign institution.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — Regular standing: any bachelor's degree with 3.0 cumulative GPA. Advanced standing: CSWE-accredited BSW with 3.5 GPA in social work courses and 3.0 cumulative.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredPersonal statement of about four pages.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required2 letters — Two references.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredPersonal resume including work and volunteer experience.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Writing sample
- RequiredWriting sample of 250 words or less on AI and the NASW Code of Ethics.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredTranscripts from all institutions attended (unofficial for application).Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- Not requiredSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Upcoming
Application deadline
December 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Upcoming
Application deadline
April 1, 2027 · for Summer 2027
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026 - Upcoming
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| Online program rate (residency category not stated on page) | $806 | per creditEstimated tuition$48,360 = 60 credits × $806 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
- Council on Social Work Education — Accredited by the Council on Social Work Education.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
State authorization
- The University of Kentucky participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA); programs in licensed fields may not be available in every state. Official pageSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional licensure
- The University of Kentucky maintains the Program State Licensure Map to provide licensure information for each state licensure program and state. State-by-state disclosureSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.
International applicants
- Online programs cannot be offered in countries subject to U.S. sanctions or where regulatory requirements cannot be met; a Global Compliance Map lists availability by country. Enrollment in a fully online program cannot lead to an F-1 or J-1 visa.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Sources and verification
- online.uky.edu/authorization-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
- online.uky.edu/masters/social-work/msw — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Kentucky. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.