Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of Cincinnati

Master of Science in Information Technology

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Information Technology

Overview

A 30-credit online IT master's with three core courses, electives and a capstone or thesis. Applicants without an IT background or with a GPA under 3.0 may need 12 credit hours of bridge courses.

Official program name
Master of Science in Information Technology
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Information Technology
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Cincinnati, OHWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30-hour requirement (bridge courses excluded)
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
can be completed in less than two years (pace not stated)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online master's degree described as 100% online.

Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Students choose a capstone (3-credit final project) or a thesis pathway.
    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other

  • 12 credit hours of bridge courses required for students with an undergraduate GPA under 3.0 or no IT background.
    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an institution accredited by a US Department of Education-recognized agency, or international equivalent.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Overall minimum GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement (replaces three essay questions effective Fall 2026 applications).
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of reference.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume or CV.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredRequired unless the applicant has a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hourFrom the university's online tuition table$662per creditEstimated tuition$19,860 = 30 credits × $662 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Distance learning fee
$26.20 per creditMandatory
Source: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • The University of Cincinnati participates in NC-SARA, which grants reciprocity to offer online and distance learning programs to residents of other SARA states, except where noted. Official pageSource: online.uc.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online.uc.edu/about/accreditations-licensures.html — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.uc.edu/degrees-programs/masters/ms-information-technology-it.html — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.uc.edu/tuition-finances/program-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Informatics and Analytics, M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Informatics and Analytics
Subject: Data Science & Analytics
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $150 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Informatics & Analytics (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Cybersecurity and Information Assurance – M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science, Cybersecurity and Information Assurance
Subject: Cybersecurity
Administering location: Salt Lake City, UTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $4,925 per term · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

MS in Library and Information Science (Leep online option)

Master'sMSLISMaster of Science in Library and Information Science
Subject: Information Systems
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 18-24 months · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $694 per credit · In-state — Illinois residents
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Cincinnati. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.