Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky · College of Nursing

Nursing Practice (DNP)

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice

Overview

A Doctor of Nursing Practice with BSN-DNP and MSN-DNP entry and several nurse practitioner specialty tracks. Didactic courses are online; students attend 1-3 day immersion blocks on the Lexington campus twice each semester.

Official program name
Nursing Practice (DNP)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Nursing Practice
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Lexington, KYWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
34 - 77 total credits
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Didactic coursework fully online with required on-campus immersion blocks twice each semester.

Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits required
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Immersion Required

    In-person immersion blocks (1-3 days) with orientation, testing, skill assessments and standardized patient modules.

    Twice each semester · Lexington campus

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBSN from a CCNE or ACEN accredited program; MSN also required for MSN-DNP entry.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrent, unencumbered RN license (and APRN license if applicable).
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three references.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent CV/resume.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredPersonal interview(s).
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$80 — $80 NursingCAS application fee.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    May 15, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Priority deadline

    Jan. 15 (preferred) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Program page rate (residency category not stated on page)$1,067.50per creditSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Kentucky Board of Nursing full approval based on CCNE accreditation.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • The University of Kentucky participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA); programs in licensed fields may not be available in every state. Official pageSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • Online programs cannot be offered in countries subject to U.S. sanctions or where regulatory requirements cannot be met; a Global Compliance Map lists availability by country. Enrollment in a fully online program cannot lead to an F-1 or J-1 visa.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online.uky.edu/authorization-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.uky.edu/doctoral/nursing-practice/dnp — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: eight semesters of full-time study (full-time study) · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Troy University

Doctor of Nursing Practice (Post Masters)

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Troy, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 35 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $550 per credit · All online students — TROY Online doctoral tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: East Lansing, MIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 years minimum duration · 70 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $934.25 per credit · In-state
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Kentucky. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.