Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky · College of Communication and Information

Communication (BA / BS)

Bachelor'sBADegree completionBachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science in Communication

Overview

A 120-credit online degree-completion program in communication for students who have earned at least 60 credit hours elsewhere. Students earn a BA or BS depending on previous coursework.

Official program name
Communication (BA / BS)
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Arts or Bachelor of Science in Communication
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
University
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Lexington, KYWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
120 total credits
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Entry pathway

Degree completion program. Requires prior college credits or an associate degree; you finish the remaining credits online.

Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Prior college credits
Required60 credits — At least 60 credit hours earned at another institution (or after leaving UK and being out at least a year); current UK students are not admitted.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Why this program is listed

Online bachelor's degree-completion program for students with at least 60 prior credit hours.

Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
No mandatory campus visits
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 15, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 15, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    August 1, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$667per creditEstimated tuition$80,040 = 120 credits × $667 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • The University of Kentucky participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA); programs in licensed fields may not be available in every state. Official pageSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • Online programs cannot be offered in countries subject to U.S. sanctions or where regulatory requirements cannot be met; a Global Compliance Map lists availability by country. Enrollment in a fully online program cannot lead to an F-1 or J-1 visa.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online.uky.edu/authorization-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.uky.edu/bachelors/communication/ba-bs — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Communication | Online

Bachelor'sBAFirst-year entryBachelor of Arts in Communication
Subject: Communication
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: typical completion time 4 years
Tuition: Tuition: $11,100 (basis not stated by the institution) · All online students — Undergraduate online e-tuition for 30 credit hours (in-state, out-of-state and Canadian) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Kentucky. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.