Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of Kentucky logo

University of Kentucky · College of Education

Learning Design & Technology (MS)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Learning Design and Technology

Overview

A 30-credit fully online MS in Learning Design and Technology from the College of Education with asynchronous classes. Applicants do not need to be teachers or hold an education degree.

Official program name
Learning Design & Technology (MS)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Learning Design and Technology
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Lexington, KYWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 total credits
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online, asynchronous master's degree.

Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
No mandatory campus visits
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree; applicants do not have to be teachers or hold an education degree.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — 2.75 undergraduate GPA; 3.00 on graduate work if applicable.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three professional recommendations.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume.
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 11, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 17, 2027 · for Summer 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    July 23, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$806per creditEstimated tuition$24,180 = 30 credits × $806 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • The University of Kentucky participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA); programs in licensed fields may not be available in every state. Official pageSource: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • Online programs cannot be offered in countries subject to U.S. sanctions or where regulatory requirements cannot be met; a Global Compliance Map lists availability by country. Enrollment in a fully online program cannot lead to an F-1 or J-1 visa.Source: online.uky.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online.uky.edu/authorization-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.uky.edu/masters/learning-design-technology/ms — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Kentucky. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.