University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Overview
A 45-credit online MPH in public health practice from the University of Nevada, Reno with three 14-week terms per year, a field experience of at least 150 hours and a capstone.
- Official program name
- Online Master of Public Health
- Awarded degree
- Master of Public HealthSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- University
- Administering location
- Reno, NVWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Required credits
- 45 creditsSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- about two years (most students) (one course at a time)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
CEPH-accredited MPH offered in a fully online format, with a required field experience.
Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Practical placement requiredSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Practicum Required
Field experience of at least 150 hours over three consecutive semesters at a host site
Host site agency or organization
Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Academic calendar
- Three 14-week terms per year, one course at a timeSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Capstone
- MPH Capstone (CHS 796) with professional paper and final presentationSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredFour-year bachelor's degree from an accredited institutionSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Minimum GPA
- RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 cumulative GPA or 3.0 in the last 60 credits (2.75-2.99 considered with test scores)Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Prerequisite courses
- RequiredA statistics course (curriculum option available for applicants lacking it)Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Other requirement
- RequiredSOPHAS application completed before the Graduate School applicationSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- OptionalApplicants with a 2.75-2.99 GPA may be considered by submitting standardized test scores (e.g., GRE, GMAT, MCAT)Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Rolling
Application deadline
Rolling admission
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| Program tuition per credit (residency not stated) | $730 | per creditEstimated tuition$32,850 = 45 credits × $730 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
- Council on Education for Public Health — CEPH-accredited programSource: nevadaonline.unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
State authorization
- The University has maintained membership in SARA since May 14, 2014 to offer distance education to students in other states. Official pageSource: unr.edu · verified October 10, 2026
International applicants
Not verified for this online program.
Sources and verification
- nevadaonline.unr.edu/academics/graduate/mph — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- unr.edu/provost/policies-and-procedures/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Master of Public Health (MPH) Online
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Online MPH in Public Health Practice
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Nevada, Reno. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.