University of North Carolina at Greensboro
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
MS in Library and Information Science (Leep online option)
Overview
A 40-credit MS in library and information science that can be completed online through the Leep option, with weekly live virtual class sessions. The page describes it as ALA-accredited.
- Official program name
- MS in Library and Information Science (Leep online option)
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science in Library and Information ScienceSource: ischool.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- University
- Administering location
- Champaign, ILWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
- Subject
- Required credits
- 40 credit hoursSource: ischool.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Duration
- 18-24 monthsSource: ischool.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
MSLIS offered on campus or online through the Leep online learning option.
Source: ischool.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules
Online format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.Source: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Campus visits
- Campus visits: not verified
- Practical placement
- Placement requirement: not verified
- Class schedule
- Synchronous (live sessions)Source: ischool.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
- Study intensity
- Not verified
In-person and practical requirements as published
Orientation Not verified
On-campus and online students meet faculty, staff and classmates during orientation; format not stated.
Source: ischool.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Curriculum
Curriculum
- Two required courses (IS 505 and IS 510), then electives or a pathway.Source: ischool.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Admissions
Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tests
Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| In-state — Illinois residentsFrom the university's online tuition table | $694 | per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$27,760 = 40 credits × $694 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
| Out-of-state — NonresidentsFrom the university's online tuition table | $960 | per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$38,400 = 40 credits × $960 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026 |
Scholarships and financial aid
Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation, authorization and licensure
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
- American Library Association — ALA-accredited MSLISSource: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
State authorization
Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Illinois.
International applicants
Not verified for this online program.
Sources and verification
- ischool.illinois.edu/academics/graduate/ms-library-and-information-science — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- ischool.illinois.edu/academics/graduate/ms-library-and-information-science/mslis-leep-online — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- online.illinois.edu/online-programs/graduate-programs/library-information-science/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
- online.illinois.edu/student-services/online-degrees-and-certificates-program-costs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other universities
Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Cybersecurity and Information Assurance – M.S.
Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.