Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Learning Design & Leadership Ed.D.

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Education Policy, Organization and Leadership

Overview

A minimum 64-credit online Ed.D. in Education Policy, Organization and Leadership with a Learning Design & Leadership concentration, taught in 8-week sessions. Requirements include qualifying and oral examinations and a dissertation; admission is for fall only.

Official program name
Learning Design & Leadership Ed.D.
Awarded degree
Doctor of Education in Education Policy, Organization and Leadership
Source: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Administering location
Champaign, ILWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
minimum 64 credit hours
Source: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online Ed.D. (Learning Design & Leadership concentration) from the College of Education.

Source: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Preliminary and final oral examinations; attendance format not stated.

    Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Two written qualifying examinations, preliminary and final oral examinations, and a doctoral dissertation.
    Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree from an accredited institution
Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA of 3.0
Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Academic statement, personal statement, resume/CV and 3 letters of reference
Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    April 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: education.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Tuition and fees per credit hour$555per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$35,520 = 64 credits × $555 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Illinois.

Professional licensure

  • the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign indicates whether a program’s curriculum meets or does not meet the educational requirements for licensure or certification in that state State-by-state disclosureSource: provost.illinois.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. education.illinois.edu/online/eddonline — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.illinois.edu/online-programs/doctoral-programs/ldl/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. provost.illinois.edu/student-consumer-information/professional-licensure-public-disclosures/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Dakota

Educational Practice & Leadership (Ed.D.)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Practice and Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration · Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Grand Forks, NDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: typically three years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Instructional Systems Technology, Ed.D.

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Instructional Systems Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Bloomington, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $541.18 per credit · In-state — Indiana resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Colorado Denver

Doctor of Education (EdD) in Leadership for Educational Equity

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership for Educational Equity
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 3 years (cohort-based) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Summer 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.