Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Michigan State University logo

Michigan State University · College of Human Medicine

Public Health, Master of Public Health

Master'sMPHMaster of Public Health

Overview

A 43-credit online Master of Public Health from the College of Human Medicine with Generalist, Rural Public Health and Data Management and Analytics concentrations, including an applied practice experience and an integrative learning experience.

Official program name
Public Health, Master of Public Health
Awarded degree
Master of Public Health
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Michigan State University — College of Human Medicine
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
East Lansing, MIWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Generalist · Rural Public Health · Public Health Data Management and Analytics
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
43 total credits
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
19 months minimum duration
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

MPH with all required courses and advising online; includes an applied practice experience.

Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Required

    PH 892 Public Health Applied Practice Experience (3 credits); location not stated

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • PH 893 Public Health Integrative Learning Experience (3 credits)
    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited college or university (Bachelor of Applied Science not accepted)
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement on interests and goals in public health
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — 3 letters of recommendation from academic or professional sources
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredRésumé or CV
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
WaivedApplication fee waivers available on request
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts; WES evaluations not accepted
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    June 1st · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    March 1st · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    October 1st · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$725per creditEstimated tuition$31,175 = 43 credits × $725 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • MSU obtains state approval directly or through a state authorization reciprocity agreement; students in SARA states may use the NC-SARA complaint process. Official pageSource: aacc.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

  • International students may enroll in MSU's online programs; check program admission requirements.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. aacc.msu.edu/compliance/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.msu.edu/programs/public-health — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS) · Epidemiology
Administering location: Chapel Hill, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Synchronous (live sessions) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 24–36 months for most students (part-time); in as few as 24 months full-time; 60 months maximum (part-time pace for most students) · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,735 per credit · All online students · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 20, 2026 · January 2027
View program
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS) · Epidemiology
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $575 per credit · All online students — Per credit hour (Illinois Online program cost table)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS)
Administering location: Amherst, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous · Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 2.5-3 years (part time) (Part-time study) · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $675 per credit · All online students — SPHHS online graduate courses, as of Fall 2025
Next deadline: October 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Michigan State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.