Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Michigan State University logo

Michigan State University · Department of Teacher Education

Teaching and Curriculum, Master of Arts

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Teaching and Curriculum

Overview

A 30-credit fully online, asynchronous Master of Arts in Teaching and Curriculum for teachers, with a 9-credit concentration; it does not lead to initial teacher certification.

Official program name
Teaching and Curriculum, Master of Arts
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Teaching and Curriculum
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Michigan State University — Department of Teacher Education
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
East Lansing, MIWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Educational Technology · Educational Psychology · K-12 Educational Administration · Literacy and Language Instruction · Socio-Cultural Perspectives in Teaching and Learning · Science and Mathematics Education · New Teacher Induction
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
30 total credits
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
2 years minimum duration
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Fully online asynchronous master's degree for practicing teachers; not available to Kentucky residents.

Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 9 core credits, 9 concentration credits, 12 elective credits
    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other

  • Up to 9 credits from the College of Education's teaching internship may count
    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or equivalent from an accredited institution
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scale (final two years of undergraduate study)
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Work experience
RequiredPrevious work experience
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredWritten academic personal statement
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — 3 letters of recommendation
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV or résumé
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all previous schools
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredOnly if English is not the native language
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 15th · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    November 1st · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    April 1st · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$933per creditEstimated tuition$27,990 = 30 credits × $933 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • International students may enroll in MSU's online programs; check program admission requirements.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. aacc.msu.edu/compliance/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.msu.edu/programs/teaching-curriculum — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Michigan State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.