Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Michigan State University logo

Michigan State University

Adult Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist, BSN-DNP

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice

Overview

A 70-credit BSN-to-DNP in the Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist concentration, with clinical role development and immersion courses and a three-part DNP project.

Official program name
Adult Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist, BSN-DNP
Awarded degree
Doctor of Nursing Practice
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Administering location
East Lansing, MIWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Adult-Gerontology Clinical Nurse Specialist
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
70 total credits
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
3 years minimum duration
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

BSN-to-DNP listed with online course delivery; clinical courses are part of the curriculum.

Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.Coursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Practical placement required
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Clinical placement Required

    Clinical courses (CNS Advanced Practice Role Development I-III, Specialty Role Immersion); location not stated

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor of Nursing degree from an accredited institution
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrent unrestricted RN license
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — 3.0 GPA (second half of the baccalaureate nursing program)
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Prerequisite courses
Required3-credit statistics course with 3.0 or better within the last five years
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredEssay on career goals and motivation
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — 3 letters of recommendation
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredRésumé/CV
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredAdmission interview with College of Nursing faculty
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    April 1st · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state$934.25per creditEstimated tuition$65,397.50 = 70 credits × $934.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state$962.25per creditEstimated tuition$67,357.50 = 70 credits × $962.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — The DNP program is accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing EducationSource: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • MSU obtains state approval directly or through a state authorization reciprocity agreement; students in SARA states may use the NC-SARA complaint process. Official pageSource: aacc.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • International students may enroll in MSU's online programs; check program admission requirements.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. aacc.msu.edu/compliance/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.msu.edu/programs/nur-agcns-bsn-dnp — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: eight semesters of full-time study (full-time study) · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Troy University

Doctor of Nursing Practice (Post Masters)

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Troy, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 35 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $550 per credit · All online students — TROY Online doctoral tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Post-Professional Occupational Therapy | Online

Professional doctorateOTDOccupational Therapy Doctorate
Subject: Occupational Therapy
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 5 semesters full-time; 8 semesters part-time (5 semesters only with full-time study) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Michigan State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.