Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Michigan State University logo

Michigan State University · College of Nursing

Nursing, RN - BSN

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing

Overview

An online RN-to-BSN program for registered nurses with an associate degree, covering community and population health, policy and evidence-based practice and ending with a leadership immersion course.

Official program name
Nursing, RN - BSN
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
University
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
East Lansing, MIWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 total credits listed for the program (university bachelor's requirements also apply)
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
2 years minimum duration
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Entry pathway

Credential-specific pathway. Requires a specific credential, such as an RN license for an RN-to-BSN.

Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredActive, unrestricted RN license before clinical coursework
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredGrade of 2.0 or higher in each science prerequisite; Tier I writing and mathematics requirements
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Why this program is listed

RN-to-BSN completion program listed with online course delivery.

Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Required

    NUR 465 Leadership Immersion (4 credits); format not stated

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Students must also meet all university requirements for a bachelor's degree
    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredAn associate degree
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 2.75 — Cumulative GPA of 2.75 or higher
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from all previous schools
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredUniversity undergraduate transfer application plus College of Nursing supplemental application
Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    March 1st · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    September 1st · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    January 1st · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state$742.50per creditEstimated tuition$22,275 = 30 credits × $742.50 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state$770.25per creditEstimated tuition$23,107.50 = 30 credits × $770.25 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education — Accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing EducationSource: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

  • MSU obtains state approval directly or through a state authorization reciprocity agreement; students in SARA states may use the NC-SARA complaint process. Official pageSource: aacc.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

  • International students may enroll in MSU's online programs; check program admission requirements.Source: online.msu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. aacc.msu.edu/compliance/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.msu.edu/programs/nur-rn-bsn — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Excelsior University

RN to Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Bachelor'sBSCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Albany, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 120 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $410 per credit · All online students — RN to BS in Nursing per-credit tuition (effective Spring 2026 trimester registration)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

RN to BSN

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
University of South Dakota logo

University of South Dakota

Nursing (RN to BSN)

Bachelor'sBSNCredential pathwayBachelor of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Vermillion, SDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 16 months (if all other required general education courses are complete (2024 announcement))
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Michigan State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.