Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University · School of Education

Health Professions (Online), Master of Education

Master'sMEdMaster of Education in the Health Professions

Overview

A 34.5-credit online MEd for health professionals holding an advanced degree, developed with five JHU schools. Students choose a leadership, research or customized track and complete a portfolio and capstone over two or four years.

Official program name
Health Professions (Online), Master of Education
Awarded degree
Master of Education in the Health Professions
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Baltimore, MDWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Leadership · Research
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
34.5 credits
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
two years or four years
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

All courses are offered online; orientation activities are online with synchronous sessions.

Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    Required orientation of asynchronous online activities followed by two days of synchronous sessions (recorded for those with conflicts).

    once, before fall classes · online

    Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredAdvanced degree in a health-professions field (terminal degree preferred).
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Master of Education Health Professions (per credit hour)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$2,000per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$69,000 = 34.5 credits × $2,000 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Johns Hopkins University participates in NC-SARA, which provides approval to offer its distance education programs in other NC-SARA states. Official pageSource: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. e-catalogue.jhu.edu/education/programs/masters/health-professions-online-master-education/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  2. e-catalogue.jhu.edu/university-wide-policies-information/admission-aid/tuition-fees/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  3. e-catalogue.jhu.edu/university-wide-policies-information/higher-education-act-disclosures/general-in — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  4. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Johns Hopkins University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.