Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University · Nitze School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS)

Global Risk, Master of Arts (Online)

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Global Risk

Overview

A 50-credit, two-year part-time online master's in global risk from the School of Advanced International Studies. The degree culminates in a group capstone with two capstone residencies, the second held in Washington, DC.

Official program name
Global Risk, Master of Arts (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Global Risk
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Baltimore, MDWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
50 credits
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
two years, part-time
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online SAIS master's with two capstone residencies, one in Washington, DC.

Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits required
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Capstone Residency I, including in-person instruction from scholars and practitioners.

    Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Residency Required

    Capstone Residency II in Washington, DC at the end of the program, immediately before graduation.

    once · Washington, DC

    Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Group capstone risk forecast project combining a conceptual area and a world region.
    Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Full-time MA in Global Risk Online (5 semesters)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$74,855(basis not stated by the institution) · 2026-2027Source: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Johns Hopkins University participates in NC-SARA, which provides approval to offer its distance education programs in other NC-SARA states. Official pageSource: e-catalogue.jhu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. e-catalogue.jhu.edu/advanced-international-studies/programs/global-risk-online/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  2. e-catalogue.jhu.edu/advanced-international-studies/programs/sustainable-energy-master-arts/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  3. e-catalogue.jhu.edu/university-wide-policies-information/admission-aid/tuition-fees/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  4. e-catalogue.jhu.edu/university-wide-policies-information/higher-education-act-disclosures/general-in — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  5. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: International Relations · Homeland Security & Emergency Management
Administering location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Johns Hopkins University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.