Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
George Washington University logo

George Washington University · Elliott School of International Affairs

Master of Arts in the Field of Security Policy Studies (Online)

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Security Policy Studies

Overview

A 40-credit online MA in Security Policy Studies from the Elliott School of International Affairs with a U.S. national security concentration, core security courses, a 4-credit capstone sequence and professional skills courses. GRE/GMAT scores are optional.

Official program name
Master of Arts in the Field of Security Policy Studies (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Security Policy Studies
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Washington, DCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
U.S. national security
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
40 credits
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

The MA can be completed fully online with the U.S. national security concentration.

Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Two-course capstone sequence (2-credit workshop plus 2-credit seminar)
    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredEssay of approximately 500 words
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters: one academic, one professional
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from all colleges and universities attended
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalGRE/GMAT test-optional.
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
GMAT
OptionalGRE/GMAT test-optional.
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Not verified — minimum 100International applicants may be required to submit; 100 internet-based is the minimum (with EAP courses).
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
PTE Academic
Not verified — minimum 68Minimum for admission with EAP courses.
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Scholarship deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Rolling
  • Scholarship deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Washington, DC.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. bulletin.gwu.edu/find-your-program/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  2. bulletin.gwu.edu/international-affairs/ma-security-policy-studies-online/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: International Relations · Economics
Administering location: Baltimore, MDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Part-time
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: two years, part-time · 50 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $74,855 (basis not stated by the institution) · All online students — Full-time MA in Global Risk Online (5 semesters) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with George Washington University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.

Master of Arts in the Field of Security Policy Studies (Online) at George Washington University | Online Format, Tuition & Admissions