Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
George Washington University logo

George Washington University · Engineering Management and Systems Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science

Doctor of Philosophy in the Field of Systems Engineering (STEM, Online)

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Systems Engineering

Overview

An online, cohort-based PhD in Systems Engineering requiring at least 60 credits: 24 credits of required courses and 36 credits of dissertation research. Candidates present at a professional conference, have an article accepted for publication, and defend the dissertation within five years.

Official program name
Doctor of Philosophy in the Field of Systems Engineering (STEM, Online)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Systems Engineering
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate
University
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Washington, DCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
at least 60 credits (24 course credits, 36 research credits)
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online PhD listed as exclusively online.

Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Dissertation defense before a committee of five faculty members within five years; location not stated

    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Not verified

    Presentation of proposed research at an engineering professional society conference by the first semester of research

    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Dissertation; an article from the research must be accepted for publication before the defense
    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other

  • Required courses taken in lockstep with the matriculating cohort
    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Minimum 3.4 GPA with no grade below B- to advance to the research phase
    Source: bulletin.gwu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Washington, DC.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. bulletin.gwu.edu/engineering-applied-science/engineering-management-systems-engineering/phd-systems- — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  2. bulletin.gwu.edu/find-your-program/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Online Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Electrical Engineering
Subject: Electrical & Computer Engineering
Administering location: College Station, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 3-5 years average completion time · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Systems & Industrial Engineering (PhD)

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Systems & Industrial Engineering
Subject: Systems Engineering · Industrial Engineering
Administering location: Tucson, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 68 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,000 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Doctor of Engineering in Engineering

Professional doctorateDEngDoctor of Engineering in Engineering
Subject: Engineering Management
Administering location: University Park, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Duration not verified · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,048 per credit · Graduate, 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 2, 2027 · Spring 2028
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with George Washington University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.