Online Doctoral Degrees
Online doctorates from accredited US institutions — research doctorates such as the PhD and professional doctorates such as the EdD, DNP and DBA. Many include required residencies or a dissertation defense; each profile shows what is published.
120 programs · page 6 of 6
Listed alphabetically by university. This directory is not a ranking. What we list
Subject: Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 4 years · 72 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — E-tuition, online programs and Leadership PhD (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Post-Professional Occupational Therapy | Online
Professional doctorateOTDOccupational Therapy Doctorate
Subject: Occupational Therapy
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 5 semesters full-time; 8 semesters part-time (5 semesters only with full-time study) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
University of Southern Mississippi
Educational Administration EdD
Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Administration
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Hattiesburg, MSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions) · Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 3 years (9 consecutive terms) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $594 per credit · In-state — Graduate MS Resident, per hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Hattiesburg, MSUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: about 4 years, depending on hours enrolled and dissertation completion (pending hours enrolled and dissertation completion) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $594 per credit · In-state — Graduate MS Resident, per hour · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Online Doctor of Educational Leadership (Ed.D.)
Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Williamsburg, KYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: three years or fewer (accelerated format) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $415 per credit · All online students — Graduate - Doctoral, EdD online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Online Ph.D. in Information Technology
PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Information Technology
Subject: Information Technology
Administering location: Williamsburg, KYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $549 per credit · All online students — Graduate - Doctoral, Information Technology online
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Doctor of Education in Higher Education Administration
Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Higher Education Administration
Subject: Higher Education Administration · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Carrollton, GAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $249 per credit · All online students — Graduate Online Only Courses (NET) tuition; an Etuition charge also applies · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Doctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education
Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education with a Major in Nursing Education
Subject: Nursing Education
Administering location: Carrollton, GAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $249 per credit · All online students — Ed.DNSGEDU online rate (Graduate NET) tuition; program differential and Etuition charges also apply · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Milwaukee, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Duration not verified · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,000 per credit · All online students — Online PhD tuition (flat fee)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Educational Leadership Ed.D. Concentration
Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education (Educational Leadership concentration)
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Laramie, WYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Career & Technical Education, PhD
PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Career and Technical Education
Subject: Adult Education · Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Logan, UTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: four-year online or campus-based program · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $536 per credit · Out-of-state — Graduate, living outside Utah
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Virginia Commonwealth University
Ed.D. in Leadership (online)
Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Organizational Leadership · Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Richmond, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Part-time
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 36 months · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Richmond, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: three years full-time or four years part-time · 58 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP)
Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Minneapolis, MNUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 18 months (traditional track, 600 documented post-BSN practicum hours on admission, minimum time to completion) · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $960 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Subject: Psychology
Administering location: Minneapolis, MNUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: as few as 2.5 years; up to eight years allowed (Fast Track option with an increased course load)
Tuition: Tuition: $645 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced) · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3-4 years · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $867 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
Occupational Safety and Health, Ph.D.
PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Occupational Safety and Health
Subject: Public Health (MPH, BS)
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: Approximately 4 years · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $805 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Educational Leadership, Doctor of Education
Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Bowling Green, KYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: three-and-a-half years (cohort taking six credit hours each semester including summers) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)
Professional doctorateDBADoctor of Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA) · Management
Administering location: New Castle, DEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As little as three years; coursework designed for 2 1/2 years, with additional time for the consultancy project or dissertation (Minimum) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $749 per credit · All online students — Doctoral, all locations/formats · 2026-2027
Next deadline: November 30, 2026 · Spring 2027
Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP)
Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: New Castle, DEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 28 months (12 courses for advanced practice nurses; 16 courses for nurse leaders)
Tuition: Tuition: $749 per credit · All online students — Doctoral, all locations/formats · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline