Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

Online Doctoral Programs in Education

Online degrees mapped to education from the program's official description. A program appears here only when its own page supports the subject.

Listed alphabetically by university. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

Programs in this field often lead to a state license. Institutional accreditation does not establish licensure eligibility — each profile links the university's own state-by-state disclosure where one is published.
Arkansas State University logo

Arkansas State University

Ed.D. in Educational Leadership

Professional doctorateEdDDoctorate of Education in Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Jonesboro, ARUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 40 months · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $487 per credit · All online students — U.S. residents
Next deadline: December 28, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View program
Boise State University logo

Boise State University

Doctor of Education in Educational Technology

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Boise, IDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $478 per credit · All online students — 500-level courses
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

City University of Seattle

Doctor of Education in Leadership

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership
Subject: Organizational Leadership · Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Seattle, WAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 91 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $810 per credit · All online students — School of Education & Leadership, doctoral · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Concordia University Wisconsin logo

Concordia University Wisconsin

Doctor of Education in Leadership in Innovation and Continuous Improvement (LICI)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership in Innovation and Continuous Improvement
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Mequon, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Designed as a 3-year doctoral journey · 50 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $900 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Concordia University Wisconsin logo

Concordia University Wisconsin

Doctor of Philosophy in Leadership in Innovation and Continuous Improvement (LICI)

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Leadership in Innovation and Continuous Improvement
Subject: Organizational Leadership · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Mequon, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Designed as a 3-year doctoral journey · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $900 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Drexel University logo

Drexel University

Online Doctorate in Educational Leadership and Management (EdD)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Management
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Philadelphia, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Part-time
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: three or five years on a part-time basis (part-time; five-year plan is one course per term) · 59.5 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,525 per credit · All online students · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 27, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program

Empire State University

Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Change

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Leadership and Change
Subject: Higher Education Administration · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Saratoga Springs, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: designed to be completed in four years · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $471 per credit · Rate printed on the program page (residency category not stated)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Franklin University

Doctor of Education (Ed.D.) in Organizational Leadership

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Organizational Leadership
Subject: Organizational Leadership · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Columbus, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 3 years (Conditional minimum; condition not stated on the page (includes one year for the dissertation).) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $828 per credit · All online students — Standard tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Instructional Systems Technology, Ed.D.

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Instructional Systems Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Bloomington, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $541.18 per credit · In-state — Indiana resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Kennesaw State University

Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Kennesaw, GAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3-4 years depending on the pace of the students during their dissertation journeys · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Kennesaw State University

Doctor of Education in Instructional Technology

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Instructional Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Kennesaw, GAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: Three to Four year Program · 66 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Marshall University logo

Marshall University

Leadership Studies, EdD

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership Studies
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Huntington, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $598 per credit · Online graduate program rate, COEPD EdD/EdS/Programs with Clinicals (no residency distinction printed) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Penn State World Campus logo

Penn State World Campus

Doctor of Education (D.Ed.)

Professional doctorateDEdDoctor of Education
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration
Administering location: University Park, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Typical student is expected to complete the program in three to four years; must finish within 8 years of the qualifying exam (Typical pace of one or two courses per semester) · 37 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,048 per credit · Graduate, 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027
Next deadline: September 15, 2027 · Spring 2028
View program
Sacred Heart University logo

Sacred Heart University

Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership (Ed.D.)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Fairfield, CTUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: 3 to 4 years · 52 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $900 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Sam Houston State University

Curriculum and Instruction (Doctor of Education)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Huntsville, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Online Ed.D. in Curriculum and Instruction

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: College Station, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: four years · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Lubbock, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Designed to be completed within 3-4 years (dependent on student progress) (Cohort model; depends on student progress) · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $415 – $500 per credit · Average in or out of state (estimate)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Thomas Edison State University

Doctor of Education in Organizational Leadership, Culture and Change (Ed.D.)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Organizational Leadership, Culture and Change
Subject: Organizational Leadership · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Trenton, NJUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $876 per credit · All online students — Ed.D. tuition per credit registered; effective August 2026 term
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Educational Leadership (EdD)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctorate of Education in Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Tucson, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 63 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $650 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Central Florida

Curriculum and Instruction, EdD

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Curriculum and Instruction
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Orlando, FLUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as little as three years (conditional minimum as printed) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $327.32 per credit · In-state
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program