Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Western Governors University logo

Western Governors University

Cybersecurity and Information Assurance – M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science, Cybersecurity and Information Assurance

Overview

Online competency-based Master of Science in Cybersecurity and Information Assurance of 11 courses (36 competency units). All coursework is online; the ISC2 Certified in Cybersecurity exam is taken at an on-site proctored testing center.

Official program name
Cybersecurity and Information Assurance – M.S.
Awarded degree
Master of Science, Cybersecurity and Information Assurance
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Administering location
Salt Lake City, UTWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
36 competency units (CUs)
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Monthly
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree with all coursework online; one certification exam must be taken at an on-site proctored testing center.

Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Required

    ISC2 Certified in Cybersecurity exam taken at a live, on-site, proctored testing center

    Proctored testing center

    Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in a STEM field, a quantitative business field or similar; or any bachelor's degree plus a relevant IT certification or related IT coursework.
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students$4,925per termSource: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • WGU states it serves students from all 50 states and U.S. territories; licensure information is provided in compliance with federal law and NC-SARA policy. Official pageSource: wgu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NWCCU institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. wgu.edu/contact.html — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. wgu.edu/content/dam/wgu-65-assets/western-governors/documents/program-guides/information-technology/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. wgu.edu/online-business-degrees/business-management-bachelors-program.html — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. wgu.edu/online-it-degrees/cybersecurity-information-assurance-masters-program.html — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Informatics and Analytics, M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Informatics and Analytics
Subject: Data Science & Analytics
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $150 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Informatics & Analytics (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

MS in Library and Information Science (Leep online option)

Master'sMSLISMaster of Science in Library and Information Science
Subject: Information Systems
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 18-24 months · 40 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $694 per credit · In-state — Illinois residents
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

West Virginia University

Cybersecurity, M.S.

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Cybersecurity
Subject: Cybersecurity
Administering location: Morgantown, WVUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: 1-3 years · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $805 per credit · Online program cost per credit hour (residency not specified)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Western Governors University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.