Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of North Carolina at Greensboro · School of Nursing

Online PhD in Nursing

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Nursing

Overview

A research PhD in Nursing delivered online with synchronous and asynchronous components, requiring 51-60 credits depending on the entering degree and a 12-credit dissertation. Students are invited to campus 2-4 times a year, with a synchronous online alternative.

Official program name
Online PhD in Nursing
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate
University
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Greensboro, NCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
51-60 credit hours (60 entering with a BSN, 51 with an MSN, 39-51 with a DNP)
Source: catalog.uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
eight semesters of full-time study (full-time study)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

PhD in Nursing delivered online with optional campus visits (a synchronous online alternative is offered).

Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Optional campus visits
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time, Part-time
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Campus visit Optional

    Invitation to campus 2-4 times per year; synchronous online alternative offered

    2-4 times per year · UNCG campus, Greensboro

    Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Dissertation defense Required

    Dissertation defense is a required milestone (format not stated)

    Source: catalog.uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's, master's or DNP degree in nursing from an accredited school
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Professional license
RequiredCurrent unrestricted RN licensure in one of the 50 states, or CGFNS-validated credentials for international applicants
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
Required300-word statement of research goals
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredInterview with graduate nursing faculty for selected applicants
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

Professional licensure

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. catalog.uncg.edu/nursing/nursing-phd/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 10, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. stateauthorization.uncg.edu/professional-licensure/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. uncg.edu/degrees/nursing-ph-d/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Troy University

Doctor of Nursing Practice (Post Masters)

Professional doctorateDNPDoctor of Nursing Practice
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN) · Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Troy, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 35 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $550 per credit · All online students — TROY Online doctoral tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: East Lansing, MIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 3 years minimum duration · 70 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $934.25 per credit · In-state
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Post-Professional Occupational Therapy | Online

Professional doctorateOTDOccupational Therapy Doctorate
Subject: Occupational Therapy
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: as few as 5 semesters full-time; 8 semesters part-time (5 semesters only with full-time study) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.