Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of North Carolina at Greensboro · School of Education, Department of Library & Information Science

Library and Information Science, M.L.I.S.

Master'sMLISMaster of Library and Information Science

Overview

An MLIS from the School of Education with options for school library and instructional technology licensure. Courses are primarily synchronous and can be completed online, and the program is accredited by the American Library Association.

Official program name
Library and Information Science, M.L.I.S.
Awarded degree
Master of Library and Information Science
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Greensboro, NCWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
MLIS with School Library Licensure; MLIS with Instructional Technology Licensure
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
Not verified
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Listed on the Online Degrees page; courses can be completed 100% online, with practicums arranged where students live.

Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Practicum Not verified

    The program works with information organizations where students reside to provide practicums; whether a practicum is required is not stated on the page.

    Where the student resides

    Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • MLIS with School Library Licensure; MLIS with Instructional Technology Licensure
    Source: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Application fee
Required$65 — $65 nonrefundable graduate application fee
Source: admissions.uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuitionFrom the university's online tuition table$20per credit · 2026-2027Source: spartancentral.uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • American Library Association — The M.L.I.S. program is accredited by the American Library AssociationSource: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation — The school library media specialist program is approved by CAEPSource: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

Professional licensure

  • Approved by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction for school library media licensure; UNCG does not guarantee that programs meeting NC licensure requirements satisfy boards in other states. State-by-state disclosureSource: uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • UNC Greensboro programs that lead to a professional license or certificate are intended to prepare a student for potential licensure or certification in North Carolina. State-by-state disclosureSource: stateauthorization.uncg.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. admissions.uncg.edu/admissions/graduate-admissions/graduate-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. spartancentral.uncg.edu/wp-content/uploads/2026/09/2026-27-Graduate-Distance.pdf — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. stateauthorization.uncg.edu/professional-licensure/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. uncg.edu/academics-support/degrees-programs/online-degrees/library-and-information-science-m-l-i-s/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
University of Southern Maine logo

University of Southern Maine

Educational Leadership | Accelerated Online

Master'sMSEdMaster of Science in Education in Educational Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Portland, MEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: as few as 14 months (Accelerated 7-week courses) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $548 per credit · All online students — Accelerated online e-tuition (in-state, Canadian and out-of-state) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 30, 2026 · Spring 2027 (Session 1)
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of North Carolina at Greensboro. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.