Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
University of Memphis logo

University of Memphis · Instruction and Curriculum Leadership (ICL)

Master of Science in Instructional Design and Technology (Design and Development)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Instructional Design and Technology

Overview

A 30-credit, 10-course online master's in instructional design and technology with a capstone project instead of a thesis. Admission is rolling and requires transcripts and two letters of recommendation; the GRE is not required.

Official program name
Master of Science in Instructional Design and Technology (Design and Development)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Instructional Design and Technology
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Memphis, TNWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
30 credit hours (10 courses)
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
as little as four semesters (condition not stated on the page)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

100% online 30-credit MS.

Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredGraduate application and university transcripts
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredNon-native speakers of English.
Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — UofM Global graduate resident (tuition cap of $6,970)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$697per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$20,910 = 30 credits × $697 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state — UofM Global graduate non-resident and internationalFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$697per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$20,910 = 30 credits × $697 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide
  • Employer Tuition Direct Bill Employer assistance

    Eligibility: Students whose employers participate in the Direct Bill Payment Plan.

    How to apply: The university bills the participating employer directly.

    Source: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • The UofM is authorized to deliver its online programs to students outside Tennessee through NC-SARA; California is not a SARA member. Official pageSource: memphis.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. memphis.edu/icl/idt/programs/ddms.php — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. memphis.edu/uofmglobal/about/accreditations.php — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. memphis.edu/uofmglobal/admissions/fees.php — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. memphis.edu/uofmglobal/degrees/graduate/ms-instructional-design-and-technology.php — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. memphis.edu/usbs/fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Higher Education Administration
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Synchronous (live sessions)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified
Tuition: Tuition: $20 per credit · Tuition differential for MS Library Information Studies (on-campus and distance), in addition to graduate tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Curriculum & Instruction
Administering location: Fitchburg, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: As few as 12 months (Condition not stated on the page.) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $385 per credit · All online students — Online MEd, same for in-state and out-of-state, fees included
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring A 2027 (classes start 1/13/27)
View program

University of Colorado Denver

MA in Learning Design and Technology

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Learning Design and Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Denver, COUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: many students finish in two years (typical; time to completion varies) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $496 per credit · In-state — Resident/WRGP
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Memphis. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.