Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of Colorado Denver · School of Education & Human Development

Doctor of Education (EdD) in Leadership for Educational Equity

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Leadership for Educational Equity

Overview

A 54-credit, cohort-based online EdD in Leadership for Educational Equity from the School of Education & Human Development with limited on-campus intensives. Students choose one of six concentrations and complete a Doctoral Research Project; cohorts start each summer.

Official program name
Doctor of Education (EdD) in Leadership for Educational Equity
Awarded degree
Doctor of Education in Leadership for Educational Equity
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Denver, COWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Early Childhood · Executive Leadership · Higher Education Leadership · Justice, Equity, And Diverse Identities (JEDI) · Learning Design · STEM Education
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
54 credit hours
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
3 years (cohort-based)
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Summer
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online cohort-based EdD with limited required on-campus intensives.

Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits required
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Immersion Required

    Limited on-campus intensives (number and timing not stated)

    CU Denver campus

    Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Individual interview for eligible applicants

    Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Doctoral Research Project with faculty and district, organization and community partners on problems of practice
    Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree from a regionally accredited institution
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredWritten Statement of Purpose (instructions vary by concentration)
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredIndividual interview after initial review
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredEarly Childhood concentration: one writing sample; JEDI concentration: two writing samples and an interview
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 for domestic applicants; $75 for international applicants
Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Resident/WRGP$496per creditEstimated tuition$26,784 = 54 credits × $496 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state — Non-Resident Online$595per creditEstimated tuition$32,130 = 54 credits × $595 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • The University is a member of NC-SARA and is authorized to provide distance education to students in other NC-SARA states; status is subject to change. Official pageSource: cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

  • These disclosures are strictly limited to the university’s determination of whether the degree programs, if successfully completed, would be sufficient to meet the educational licensure or certifica State-by-state disclosureSource: cudenver.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. online.cudenver.edu/admissions/tuition-and-financial-aid — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.cudenver.edu/programs/graduate/online-doctor-education-edd-leadership-educational-equity — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. online.cudenver.edu/programs/graduate/online-mba — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. cudenver.edu/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. cudenver.edu/state-authorization/professional-licensure — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of North Dakota

Educational Practice & Leadership (Ed.D.)

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Educational Practice and Leadership
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Higher Education Administration · Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Grand Forks, NDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Mixed (live + self-paced)
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: typically three years · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Instructional Systems Technology, Ed.D.

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Instructional Systems Technology
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology
Administering location: Bloomington, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: Duration not verified · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $541.18 per credit · In-state — Indiana resident · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Learning Design & Leadership Ed.D.

Professional doctorateEdDDoctor of Education in Education Policy, Organization and Leadership
Subject: Instructional Design & Technology · Educational Leadership & Administration
Administering location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $555 per credit · All online students — Tuition and fees per credit hour
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Colorado Denver. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.