Skip to content
OnlineUniversities
Wilmington University logo

Wilmington University · College of Business and Technology

Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)

Professional doctorateDBADoctor of Business Administration

Overview

A 48-credit Doctor of Business Administration offered in online and face-to-face cohorts, with 7-week classes, a consultancy project or dissertation, a required new student orientation and a required two-day residency at the end of year 2.

Official program name
Doctor of Business Administration (DBA)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Business Administration
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — professional doctorate
University
Wilmington University — College of Business and Technology
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
New Castle, DEWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
48 semester credit hours
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
As little as three years; coursework designed for 2 1/2 years, with additional time for the consultancy project or dissertation (Minimum)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

DBA with a 100% online cohort; a required two-day residency and a required orientation are stated (location not stated).

Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.Coursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Residency Required

    Two-day residency of workshops, activities and individual meetings, held once per cohort at the end of year 2 (location not stated)

    Once per cohort

    Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Orientation Required

    New student orientation about 2-3 weeks before the first semester (location not stated)

    Once

    Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • 7-week blocks, typically two courses per semester
    Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Dissertation

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's and master's degrees
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of goals and objectives (2-3 pages)
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — One letter of recommendation (current or immediate supervisor preferred)
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume or CV
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Interview
RequiredFaculty panel interview and assessments in critical thinking, writing and finance
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$35 — $35 non-refundable application fee
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 30, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    August 2, 2027 · for Fall 2027

    Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Doctoral, all locations/formatsFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$749per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$35,952 = 48 credits × $749 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Student Technology Fee
$30 per semesterMandatory
Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide
  • Service Members (Active Duty) rate Tuition discount

    $250 per credit undergraduate, $300 per credit graduate (2026-2027); does not apply to guard, reserves, spouses or dependents

    Eligibility: Active-duty service members

    Source: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Institution-wide awards are listed because they cover online students at this level; eligibility conditions apply.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

  • International Accreditation Council for Business Education — Accredited by the International Assembly for Collegiate Business EducationSource: wilmu.edu · verified October 10, 2026

State authorization

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. wilmu.edu/admission/dba_admission.aspx — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. wilmu.edu/business/dba.aspx — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. wilmu.edu/business/doctor-of-business-administration-curriculum.aspx — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. wilmu.edu/onlinelearning/stateauthorization.aspx — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  6. wilmu.edu/tuition/index.aspx — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Troy University

Ph.D., Global Leadership, Organizational Leadership

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Global Leadership
Subject: Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Troy, ALUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 63 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $550 per credit · All online students — TROY Online doctoral tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Purdue University Global

Doctor of Business Administration

Professional doctorateDBADoctor of Business Administration
Subject: Business Administration (incl. MBA) · Management
Administering location: West Lafayette, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Duration not verified · 90 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $485 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Educational Leadership & Administration · Organizational Leadership
Administering location: Chapel Hill, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Part-time
In-person requirements: Optional campus visits
Duration: 36 months to complete coursework for most students (most students; accelerated completion not available) · 54 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $598 per credit · In-state · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 20, 2026 · January 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with Wilmington University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.