Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of the Cumberlands

Online Ph.D. in Information Technology

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Information Technology

Overview

A 60-credit online PhD in Information Technology combining IT core courses, professional research courses and a dissertation. Executive-format students enroll in an applied learning practicum every term.

Official program name
Online Ph.D. in Information Technology
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Information Technology
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Doctoral — research doctorate
University
Administering location
Williamsburg, KYWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
60 required credit hours
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online PhD in Information Technology listed with an online location only.

Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Dissertation must be completed and successfully defended; delivery format of the defense not stated.

    Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • Practicum Optional

    Applied learning practicum (INTR 799/899) is required every term only for Executive format students.

    every term (Executive format)

    Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Professional research (24 hours) including DSRT 930 and 931 Dissertation.
    Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredMaster's degree in Information Technology, Computer Science, Computer Information Systems or a closely related area
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale from the conferred master's degree
Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — Graduate - Doctoral, Information Technology onlineFrom the university's online tuition table$549per creditEstimated tuition$32,940 = 60 credits × $549 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • Kentucky is a SARA member and University of the Cumberlands is an approved SARA institution; availability by state is listed in the NC-SARA licensure document. Official pageSource: ucumberlands.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. ucumberlands.edu/about/accreditation-information — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. ucumberlands.edu/academics/graduate/phd-information-technology — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. ucumberlands.edu/admissions/admission-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. ucumberlands.edu/tuition-aid/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

National University

Doctor of Philosophy in Data Science

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Data Science
Subject: Data Science & Analytics
Administering location: San Diego, CAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: designed to be completed within 45 months; as few as 35 months at an accelerated rate (Accelerated pace) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,104 per credit · All online students — Average cost per credit
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program
Subject: Biology · Data Science & Analytics
Administering location: Gainesville, FLUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: Full time 4–6 years; part time 7–8 years (estimated) · 60 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $484.48 per credit · In-state — Florida residents
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View program
George Mason University logo

George Mason University

Bioinformatics and Computational Biology (PhD)

PhDPhDDoctor of Philosophy in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Subject: Biology · Data Science & Analytics
Administering location: Fairfax, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Full-time, Part-time
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: most required coursework in approximately two years, followed by dissertation research · 72 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of the Cumberlands. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.