Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Department of Nutrition and Health Sciences

Applied Nutrition (Online) Specialization – Dietetics (IDEA)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Nutrition and Health Sciences

Overview

A 32-credit online MS in Nutrition and Health Sciences with a dietetics specialization, delivered through IDEA with courses allocated across three partner universities. It is open to registered dietitians and holders of an ACEND DPD verification statement and ends with a final oral exam; completing it does not by itself qualify graduates for the RD/RDN credentialing exam.

Official program name
Applied Nutrition (Online) Specialization – Dietetics (IDEA)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Nutrition and Health Sciences
Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Lincoln, NEWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Required credits
32 total credits of coursework
Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
ten years from the oldest course on the Memorandum of Courses (Maximum time limit)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online MS specialization delivered through the IDEA consortium; UNL is one of three institutions students may apply to.

Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not verified

In-person and practical requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Required

    Final oral exam in the final semester of coursework (format not stated)

    Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Curriculum

Other

  • Courses are allocated across three IDEA partner institutions (University of Kansas Medical Center, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Oklahoma State University)
    Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Professional license
RequiredRegistered Dietitian (RD/RDN) or a DPD Verification Statement from an ACEND-accredited Didactic Program in Nutrition and Dietetics
Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Transfer credit
OptionalUp to 15 graduate credits may be transferred, pending advisor approval
Source: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All online students — IDEA: Online Higher Education Alliance, CASNR/CEHS graduate online rate (listed in both resident and non-resident tables)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$622per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$19,904 = 32 credits × $622 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounts.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • UNL is an approved NC-SARA institutional participant, allowing it to offer distance education programs in 49 states, DC, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands; California independently authorizes UNL. Official pageSource: online.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Professional licensure

  • Having the DPD Verification Statement and completing the online MS does not qualify a graduate to sit for the CDR credentialing exam; an ACEND-accredited dietetic internship is also required. State-by-state disclosureSource: cehs.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
  • programs leading to licensure and and/or certification required for entry into the profession are listed online at https://executivevc.unl.edu/licensure . State-by-state disclosureSource: online.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Accreditation and state authorization do not establish that a program meets licensure requirements in your state.

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. cehs.unl.edu/nhs/programs/dietetics-online/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. online.unl.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. studentaccounts.unl.edu/tuition-and-fees/graduate-tuition-and-fees-2026-2027/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Subject: Nursing Leadership
Administering location: Greensboro, NCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student.
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: 7 semesters, beginning with a fall admission · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Cincinnati

MSN Family Nurse Practitioner

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Cincinnati, OHUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location.
In-person requirements: Campus visits required; practical placement required
Duration: Duration not verified · 51 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $752 per credit · All online students — Instructional fee, part-time per credit hour
Next deadline: November 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View program
Hawaii Pacific University logo

Hawaii Pacific University

Online MSN-FNP Program

Master'sMSNMaster of Science in Nursing
Subject: Nurse Practitioner · Nursing (BSN, MSN)
Administering location: Honolulu, HIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + local placementCoursework is online; a clinical placement, practicum, internship, fieldwork or student teaching is completed in person, usually near the student. · Asynchronous
In-person requirements: Practical placement required
Duration: As few as 24 months (Minimum completion time) · 45 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,156 per credit · All online students
Next deadline: December 18, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.