Skip to content
OnlineUniversities

University of Nebraska-Lincoln · Department of Agronomy and Horticulture

Master of Science in Agronomy and Horticulture (AgroHort Online)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Agronomy and Horticulture

Overview

A 30-credit online MS in Agronomy and Horticulture with a recommended project track (Option B) or a thesis track (Option A) that requires a local research mentor and resources. Specializations include crop physiology and production, plant breeding and genetics, and range and forage sciences.

Official program name
Master of Science in Agronomy and Horticulture (AgroHort Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Agronomy and Horticulture
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Degree level
Master's
University
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Administering location
Lincoln, NEWhere the university or its administering campus is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Subject
Specializations
Crop Physiology & Production · Plant Breeding & Genetics · Range & Forage Sciences
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours (project or thesis option)
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Master's degree offered 100% online.

Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We list online bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from institutionally accredited US universities. Eligibility rules

Online format and attendance

“Online” is not one format. Delivery, campus visits, practical placements and class schedule are shown separately, each only as the university states it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.All coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Campus visits
Campus visits: not verified
Practical placement
Placement requirement: not verified
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Study intensity
Not verified

The program page does not say whether campus visits or placements are required. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Option B (project): 3 credit hours of AGRO 894 project hours; recommended for online students
    Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Thesis

  • Option A (thesis) requires a local PhD mentor, research resources and proximity to the research location
    Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree with a GPA of at least 3.0
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of at least 3.0
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three professional letters of recommendation
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurriculum vitae or resume
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Application fee
Required$50 — $50 non-refundable application processing fee
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International students; 550 paper-based or 79 internet-based.
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International students.
Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    November 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    April 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    July 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: agrohortonline.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
In-state — Resident graduate base rate, online (2026-2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$399per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$11,970 = 30 credits × $399 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounts.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026
Out-of-state — Non-resident graduate base tuition, online (2026-2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$792per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$23,760 = 30 credits × $792 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required visits or placements, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: studentaccounts.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Other published fees

Online course fee
$35 per creditMandatory
Source: studentaccounts.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

Scholarships and financial aid

Awards published by the university for this program or for online students at this level. Loans must be repaid and are not scholarships; financial aid availability does not make a program “fully funded”. Scholarships & funding guide

Program-specific scholarships: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation, authorization and licensure

Three separate questions: is the university accredited, can it enroll students from your state online, and does the program meet licensure requirements where you live?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

State authorization

  • UNL is an approved NC-SARA institutional participant, allowing it to offer distance education programs in 49 states, DC, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands; California independently authorizes UNL. Official pageSource: online.unl.edu · verified October 10, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this online program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 10, 2026.
  1. agrohortonline.unl.edu — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  2. agrohortonline.unl.edu/admission-ms-agronomy/ — Official admissions page, verified October 10, 2026
  3. agrohortonline.unl.edu/master-science-agronomy-and-horticulture/ — Official program page, verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.unl.edu/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 10, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  6. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  7. studentaccounts.unl.edu/tuition-and-fees/graduate-tuition-and-fees-2026-2027/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this university? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other universities

Same degree level and subject group. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Johns Hopkins University logo

Johns Hopkins University

Sustainable Energy, Master of Arts (Online)

Master'sMAMaster of Arts in Sustainable Energy
Subject: Environmental Science · Public Policy
Administering location: Baltimore, MDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Online coursework + campus visitsCoursework is online, with required visits, residencies or immersions on campus or at another set location. · Part-time
In-person requirements: Campus visits required
Duration: two years, part-time · 42 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $65,645 (basis not stated by the institution) · All online students — Full-time MA in Sustainable Energy Online (5 semesters) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

University of Idaho

Natural resources, integrated natural resources, M.N.R.

Master'sMNRMaster of Natural Resources (Integrated Natural Resources option)
Subject: Environmental Science
Administering location: Moscow, IDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program. · Asynchronous · Part-time
In-person requirements: In-person requirements not verified
Duration: may complete the degree in just three semesters · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $649 per credit · All online students — Online M.N.R. flat rate · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (Online)

Master'sMSMaster of Science in Statistical Data Science
Subject: Data Science & Analytics · Statistics
Administering location: College Station, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Online format: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the institution states no required on-site activity for this program.
In-person requirements: No mandatory campus visits
Duration: 2 years average completion time · 32 credits
Tuition: Tuition: $1,880 per course · In-state — In-state, tuition and fees for 3 credit hours (approximate)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View program

Online Universities is independent and not affiliated with University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.